We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambiance!”
Review of Il Cantuccio

Il Cantuccio
Ranked #3 of 4,219 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lygon Street
Description: Step back in time as you enjoy your meal in a friendly relaxed family run business.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

4 of us ate here on a Saturday night. The place was booked out, always a good sign. We all had different things and all enjoyed them.Cost for 4 mains, 2 dessert and a bottle of wine and a beer, $189.
Very reasonable.
Will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
28  Thank yted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening.Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 346 of 404 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

For my son's 11th birthday dinner he gave me a brief - we had to go somewhere which was a little different and not in the area we live, it had to have good atmosphere, and it had to have extensive pasta and meat dishes. After searching for good Italian restaurants I came across Il Cantuccio and after reading other reviews I decided this would be the perfect choice!

Mario immediately took over the arrangements. He offered to organise a cake for me and have it delivered to the restaurant. He kept in touch as though it was a massive 40th birthday party not a simple 11 year old party for 8 people. When we arrived, he immediately wished Luke a happy birthday which set him up for the night! We were given bruschetta; garlic and herb bread on the house plus port at the end of the night. Mario fussed over Luke and to top it all off, the food was extremely good! The cake came out with candles and sparklers and everyone sang Happy Birthday - I haven't seen my son glow with pride like that for a while!

It was a lovely evening - as my son said when he went to bed - the perfect night. I would highly recommend Il Cantuccio, the food is delicious, the atmosphere is wonderful and cosy and the attention from staff, outstanding! Thank you Mario - we will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
24  Thank kgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you so much Chris for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening it's all about making you feel welcome just as if you were at home.Hope to see you again soon. Ciao Mario..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The friendly owner, Mario, made us feel most welcome. The food was top quality with imaginative ideas and well presented. The atmosphere is very much of a traditional Italian restaurant and the prices very reasonable. We brought a bottle of his brother, Vince's, very good wine from his vinyard in the Yarra Valley and it was a perfect end to a well needed holiday in Victoria.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
22  Thank DaveJJenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening it's all about making you feel welcome just as if you were at home.Hope to see you again soon. Ciao Mario..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

A colleague and I literally just finished dining at Il Cantuccio after walking Lygon street and were attracted to this place by its warm looking and rustic atmosphere. Unlike every other Italian on Lygon Street it doesn't serve pizza, have street salesmen and it's menu isn't as long as an encyclopedia and in my opinion it is much better for it. We were greeted by a friendly (not overbearing) waitstaff and seated at a vacant table. I had the veal scaloppine with red wine, mushroom and cream sauce which was delectable! Like most Italian food it wasn't the healthiest, but OMG was it amazing and flavorsome, the natural flavors of traditional cooking were apparent with every bite. The staff, who I assume were owner and wife were extremely friendly, happy that we clean our plates with our complementary bread and even sat down to the table next to us to join in the friendly conversation. It was so refreshing to see that such traditional hospitality and authentic recipes had not been forsaken for commercialism and the obsessively health conscious. In my mind an amazing experience, do not hesitate!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
24  Thank SunburntViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening it's all about making you feel welcome just as if you were at home.Hope to see you again soon. Ciao Mario..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

After a day at the Melbourne cup we finished early and rang II Cantuccio to ask if we could come one hour early. No problem they said. The service was impeccable and the food superb. We were a table of 12 who had different items from the menu. We couldn't fault it. Highly recommend.

23  Thank sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening it's all about making you feel welcome just as if you were at home.Hope to see you again soon. Ciao Mario..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cantuccio also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Cantuccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing