We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian food and service”
Review of Il Cantuccio

Il Cantuccio
Ranked #3 of 4,176 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lygon Street
Description: Step back in time as you enjoy your meal in a friendly relaxed family run business.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

After a day at the Melbourne cup we finished early and rang II Cantuccio to ask if we could come one hour early. No problem they said. The service was impeccable and the food superb. We were a table of 12 who had different items from the menu. We couldn't fault it. Highly recommend.

23  Thank sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening it's all about making you feel welcome just as if you were at home.Hope to see you again soon. Ciao Mario..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 344 of 397 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

A brief business trip to Melbourne but one night free to go back to Il Cantuccio to see if I could be third time lucky on food and service. And I was.

Mario and his wife Lara are very special people. respect gets respect with them and my Friday night was an exceptional dining experience in which the food was only part of the equation. We shared conversation and good humour during the night and it just ended up as a memorable occasion. So how good is it when you don't get to a favorite restaurants for a few months and as soon as you walk in the door someone calls you by your name and welcomes you back ??

Il Cantuccio - I love you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
26  Thank Watermannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Always a pleasure having a chat and a laugh with you.See you next time your in Melbourne.Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

After having Il Cantuccio restaurant recommended to us, we dined there a few nights ago while on a trip to Melbourne.
From the moment we walked in the door, we were treated to excellent, warm, friendly, "family" service . The owner, Mario, is an excellent host, as is his wife Lara. The restaurant has such a warm atmosphere, there is no hype or glitz or glamour.. just authentic Italian hospitality.
I can't say enough about the food at Il Cantuccio. It is "real" Italian food.. not your typical "Aussie-Italian" meals. What was very evident about our meals was how fresh everything was. The meat, the vegetables etc.. you could truly taste the difference. The servings were extremely generous and the taste of our meals was just sensational.
I have to say that the tiramisu was the best I have ever tasted anywhere.
Everything about this restaurant was perfect for us. The ambience, the service, the warm, friendly service and the exceptional quality of the food, all made for an absolutely perfect evening.
We want to go back to Melbourne now just to go back to Il Cantuccio!!!
Thank you Mario for making our night so enjoyable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
28  Thank HappyHolidaysSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening.Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everytime I go to Melbourne I make sure I go to Il Cantuccio at least once. It's a family run restaurant on Lygon Street with excellent food and the Tiramisu is to die for. You can BYO bottled wine. If the weather permits we sit outside & you certainly don't notice the traffic going up & down Lygon Street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
25  Thank coast16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening.Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I decided to book a meal for my family of 4 while we were on holiday in Melbourne recently. There were so many Italian Restaurants to choose from along Lygon St. We decided to step in this restaurant without being hassled and straightaway this lady welcomed us and sat on this cosy little corner. The staff were very friendly and will accommodate your order. The food is excellent! Bellisomo! from entree, main and dessert. We ordered the recommended wine and we had a glass each... it was very nice! I highly recommend this place! For a family of four, our bill was under $100!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
25  Thank Jek126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening.Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cantuccio also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Cantuccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing