We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best when you're not hungry or on a diet”
Review of Hopetoun Tearooms

Hopetoun Tearooms
Ranked #1 of 105 Dessert in Melbourne
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: A Melbourne Institution - since 1892 - located in the exact same position of the Block Arcade. Providing diners with a range of Tea, desserts and a la carte savoury meals. High Tea is also provided 7 days - by reservation only - access online for reservations. General dining - no reservation required - just come in and we will look after you..
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best when you're not hungry or on a diet”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We queued for about 30 minutes on Sunday 30th March 2014. We did have the option of seeing the cake window and the menu beforehand. Once we were ushered in, to a small table for the four of us, our simple order was taken. The single cake each and drinks were delivered separately. The server could not answer a simple historical query about the establishment. None of the servers appeared, by their accents, to be Australian. Whilst the cakes were pleasant and the drinks satisfactory the overrated experience was done in 30 minutes at a cost of $60+.
This I do not consider cheap for my home town and I believe a better experience and fare to be had in St Kilda on a Sunday. Sorry, but I do not recommend, nor likely to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BILMARAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    835
    364
    137
    40
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Old fashioned elegance with style.”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Popped in for a late breakfast at 10.30am, there were only 2 other tables full - Wasn't I lucky? suddenly the tearoom was packed with customers enjoying the magnificent selection of scones and cakes. Glenn Miller music playing softly in the background complimented the period decor. My large omlette was filled with beautiful mushrooms and gruyere cheese. it was served with a lovely fresh salad plus toast...too much for me but I did do it justice. The fresh tulip on each table shows the attention to detail. The staff were professional and pleasant - a must visit in Melbourne.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grimrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Exactly the right place to take interstate Visitors”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great place to take interstate visitors for an afternoon tea/coffee/tea experience. It was a Sunday just prior to lunchtime so we had a 20 minute wait which wasn't a problem. Very friendly staff would come out to check how many in line and give us an estimate of wait time which was very much appreciated. It also gave us time to check out the beautiful cakes in the window and make our selections, although once inside we decided to have their delicious sandwiches, the triple layer salmon and cream cheese ones were so fresh and tasty, also the egg sandwiches which were made up as 'point' sandwiches were excellent, along with very delicious scones with jam and cream, so we had a mixture of share plates between the four of us. The only minor complaint I would have is that it took three requests to the service staff till we were given a bottle of tap water and glasses for our table. The staff still do an excellent job considering the number of people visiting the tearooms. It's a Melbourne tradition .... do it, you will enjoy the heritage surroundings and a lovely afternoon tea or meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jubaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barham, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Every visitor to Melbourne must experience these wonderful Tearooms. Fine cakes, tea perfectly brewed as was the coffee

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nuggettdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“loved it! Loved it! Loved it!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Went with a girlfriend for high tea. Had to stand in a queue which I think would put people off...but the experience was worth the wait! Maybe because I was in such great company...but the staff was friendly and welcoming despite the busyness...top marks! The slices we had was delicious though we probably would not have bought the chocolate mousse.
Every table was taken this Saturday afternoon as proof to its reputation so....if you're visiting Melbourne, you must take time to visit.
Ensure you have lots of time at hand though

Helpful?
Thank champneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopetoun Tearooms also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hopetoun Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing