We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exquisite presentation - seasonal and traditional”

Hanabishi Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #444 of 4,053 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
singapore
Level Contributor
198 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“exquisite presentation - seasonal and traditional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The chef/owner at Hanabishi is very focused on producing seasonal dishes that speak to the season. Their are many restaurants that prepare traditional Japanese dishes in Melbourne but this is the only one that creates metaphors of the seasons. If you like me choose to eat with your eyes, then you will love the beautiful presentation at Hanabishi.

The fish they buy is the freshest of the fresh and the quality is always first rate. Mr Shin the sushi chef makes exquisite sushi and sashimi and is a joy to watch.

Hanabishi is a small busy restaurant, so remember to book and please note it is only open Monday to Friday, both lunch and dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenjenrossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
tasmania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best sashimi I've eaten in Melbourne.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just had sashimi sushi Moriawase and it was superb. Very delighted to have eaten here at last.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stumbled upon this restaurant whilst walking around the CDB. I decided to go in an give it a go.

I have eaten Japanese in many countries around the world, this has to be one of the best I've ever tasted. The service was fantastic with the Chefs more than happy to answer some questions I asked.

I will return to Hanabashi every time I am in Melbourne...make sure you check it out for yourself!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikey-st1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First class Japanese.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Its definitely saying something when your regarded as one of the best Japanese restaurants in the restaurant mecca that is Melbourne. The food here is amazing. I recommend trying the seasonal specials. The crispy salmon skin salad was sensational and the sushi is soft and fresh. Its not cheap, but nor should it be for the quality you receive.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott_from_OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Hanabishi has been one of my favorite japanese restaurant in Melbourne for the past 3 years. As you enter the restaurant, you quickly forget that you actually on busy King Street in Melbourne. The atmosphere brings you to a nice and tranquil japanese restaurant. The restaurant is suitable for dining with colleagues or friends or romantic dinner.

Although the restaurant offer variety of foods in their menu, I would recommend 2 of my favorites in this review.

The first one is Salt Skin Barramundi. The fish is encased in salt and inside it is wrapped with bamboo leaves. As the waiter serve the fish, they'll crack the salt with hammer (yes wooden hammer) and unwrap the bamboo leaves around the fish. I must say, as you eat the fish, you can taste the tenderness of the fish meat and you can smell the fragrance of the leaves hence there is no fishy smell at all. Furthermore, the fish is BONELESS!! It certainly help me to enjoy the fish more without have to worry about separating the fish bone from the meat like in another restaurant.

Secondly, the MUST try menu in Hanabishi is Sukiyaki with Premium Grade Wagyu beef. You need a minimum of 2 people to order this dish. (Or you can order it for yourself but you have to eat a 2 people portion, at least :P). For those that not familiar with Sukiyaki dish, it basically involves dipping the meat into a hot pot to steam it with sweet soy sauce based soup. They also provide you with a raw egg (yes RAW egg) on separate bowl to dip the COOKED meat. For those who find raw egg is not their cup of tea then I suggest not to have the meat with it. The meat tastes really nice already. BUT, you missing out the complete experience of the dish, as the egg add extra flavour to the meat. Furthermore, the egg serve as heat absorbant for the meat, so you can enjoy the meat straight from the hot pot without have to burn your tongue. After you taste this dish, I guarantee you will find yourself wanting for more. The meat is so tender that as soon as you put in your mouth, the flavour and the meat just melt in your tongue.

A bit of warning though, the sukiyaki dish doesn't come cheap. As the menu on their website stated (www.hanabishi.com.au), the premium wagyu cost AUD$ 72 per PERSON and you have to order a minimum of 2 people to enjoy the dish. Although it's quite costly, but I haven't found this unique experience and the tastiness of the meat in any other restaurant in Melbourne.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanabishi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hanabishi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing