We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cocktails and bar snacks”
Review of Hairy Canary - CLOSED

Hairy Canary
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great cocktails and bar snacks”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Hairy Canary and it's Hairy Little Sista are both good laid back coktail and snack bars worth a visit - Hairs Sista does excellent eggplant chips!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sallycp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    53
    36
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Regular customers no more...”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

A group of friends and I have an annual Christmas catch up at Hairy and have done so for the past 4 years. The food USED to be excellent and great value for money. This time around we were served tiny tapas plates, I'd say the worst value for money I've experienced in Melbourne. Am not sure how they justify charging $15.70 for 3 prawns! We sent the calamari back as we couldn't actually quite find any calamari on the tiny plate of batter. On a plus the duck pizza was delicious if you were lucky enough to get one of the 5 pieces of duck on the plate. We couldn't have been more disappointed. Sorry guys, you've lost your touch - along with the eggplant chips (one of our favorites and told by the waiter everyone asked what happened to them). Next Christmas we'll treat ourselves to somewhere else...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not what I thought it was”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I had been to the Hairy Canary a few years back and remembered a fun night with good food. Revisiting this spot was not what I expected this time around. The menu is pretty average - nothing really captured me so I settled for something that was OK I guess. Drinks were OK, service was slow and disinterested. Don't bother - there are so many other great places in the area to choose from. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gallasingery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food to share with friends”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a nice dinner with friends. The food is designed for sharing and we enjoyed what we ordered. It was quite noisy and a bit hard to hear each other, but it's that kind of place, and you go expecting it to be loud

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank happymum23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

really good wine and beer list, lovely snack food and pizza. Staff are really helpful and a nice place to catch up with friends

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank richard_baker_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hairy Canary also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing