We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10/10” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grossi Florentino

Grossi Florentino
Ranked #43 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: Grossi Florentino Upstairs
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“10/10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I still cant believe our luck in getting a table for dinner at short notice(3 hours). We walked past the restaurant at least 4 times during our stay and every table, inside & out, was taken everytime at all hours of the day & night (if they take bookings it might be a good idea to reserve a table)
Salumi & Ceviche to begin with.
Octopus salad & Zucchini flowers.
Clam pasta & Spag marinara to finish. The food was presented well without any over the top extravagance allowing the flavours to be the winner.
Service was efficient & friendly.We appreciated the waiter taking the time to tell us the history of the restaurant.
We walked out sated & looking forward to returning (when the up stairs restaurant renervations will be completed) when we next visit Melbourne.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BadBoyBobby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grossi_Restaurants, Owner at Grossi Florentino, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    214
    105
    49
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
135 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I love this Melbourne Institution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

There is something about Grossi Florentino that is exceptionally Melbourne. I think it is an institution here. I have eaten at The Cellar Bar, The Grill and at the upstairs 3 hat dining area. I would have to say that my favourite place is The Grill. Smart yet still casual with great service. The food is always delicious, particularly the pastas which are cooked to perfection. Always a very pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank intrepid_pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grossi_Restaurants, Owner at Grossi Florentino, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed our Grossi Florentino Grill. We look forward to looking after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“'Overcooked'”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Evening meal 30 jan 2013.
Entrees: tuna salad and octopus salad - both Excellent.
Mains: Steak overcooked, ordered medium, received v well done. Not flavorsome. Poor. Whole snapper - ok, bit overcooked, nothing special. overcooked fresh seafood!! Please.
Deserts: creme brûlée - aargh!! - custardy and eggy. yuk. Tiramasu - ok. Yummy. Poorly served slopped on plate.
overall really very disappointing.
3.5 \ 10.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grossi_Restaurants, Owner at Grossi Florentino, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello and thank you for visiting The GRILL at Grossi Florentino. We were very sorry to hear that there were aspects of your meal you did not enjoy.
We would be very happy for you to contact us personally on
liz@grossi.com.au.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pre-theatre delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The pre-theatre deal was enjoyed all 6 in our party. They were happy to swap meals and wines. Service was, as expected, promprt and courteous. All in all, a great evening was had before we headed to the theatre.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank OzTravelers-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best breakfast experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to forgo the hotel breakfast today and ventured just around the corner. We experienced the best breakfast we can remember anywhere. The staff were friendly and attentive and the food was phenomenal!! Reasonably priced too..we're going back tomorrow morning!

Helpful?
Thank AJParrello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grossi_Restaurants, Owner at Grossi Florentino, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your feedback regarding The CELLAR BAR at GROSSI FLORENTINO.
We are pleased you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grossi Florentino also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Grossi Florentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing