We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum, delicious!”
Review of Grossi Florentino

Grossi Florentino
Ranked #45 of 4,114 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: Grossi Florentino Upstairs
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum, delicious!”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I've been here quite a few times, many times where i have organised dinner for international visitors for work functions but i also recommended it for my Sister In Laws small wedding. Everyone loves the food, it is not overpriced. The service is nice and the people who work there are friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    221
    111
    50
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlton
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Always wanted to go there, it lives up to its reputation.”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Went to Grossi Florentino last night to celebrate my husbands significant birthday! We have talked about going to this restaurant forever and never got around to it. We went with my in laws and had a memorable evening. The food was excellent, delicious and beautifully served. The wine list is extensive, and pricey but very good. The service was faultless: full of character, attentive but not intrusive.The dining room is beautiful, dominated by the large window onto the trees of Collins St. This is Melbourne at its very best. Its expensive and I would reserve going again to a special occasion but would go again. Thank you.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissKDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Old World Fine Dining”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My wife and I have dined at Grossi Florentino in the upstairs restaurant many times and it is one of our favorite restaurants in Melbourne, especially when looking for that old world traditional dining experience. With many of the newer top restaurants having a modern and more minimalistic decor the upstairs restaurant at Grossi has old style grandeur and ambiance particularly highlighted by the large painted murals on the walls. The food has always been a high standard with a leaning to the rustic style, and a great wine selection. It was dining here that we got a recommendation to visit the Piedmont region which we so enjoyed on our last trip to Europe. In the past couple of years we have also been to a couple of Grossi Florentino dining events as a part of the Melbourne Food and Wine festival. These have been great and well worth looking out for.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,218 reviews
932 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“Ticked off our bucket list”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Yes it was a place i felt just needed to be ticked off. Service is great, while being modern and relaxed, not too over the top. Inside even though keeping it traditional it seems it could do with a bit of a modern update.

As for the food, it was good but did expect more. Entrees, mains and dessert were all pretty good. But the pasta dishes we had between entree and mains were average. I think they were the rabbit linguine and a lobster ravioli, just seemed bland and lacked something. All the food was very fresh.

Overall we can say we have been here and it was good, but at about $200 ea (included 1/2 botttle red) i would try elsewhere next time in Melbourne.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank szkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Iconic Restaurant”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Qunticentially italian with a classy presence and equally amazing food

Helpful?
Thank JNaresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grossi Florentino also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Grossi Florentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing