We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flower Drum

Flower Drum
Reserve with
Flower Drum is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The service and the food at Flower Drum is simply sensational. When we arrived, 4 waiters showed us to our seats (there were 4 of us), pulled our seats out for us. They were attentive throughout the evening, and service was efficient and non-intrusive.
The actual food was spectacular.
It's not a cheap night out by any means ($680 for the four of us), but it was worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shanemelb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    208
    134
    46
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I haven't been to the Flower Drum since late last century and upon entering, you soon come to the realisation that the whole place got left behind somewhere in 1998. Good food however you could find the same at any other Chinese restaurant in town for half the price. Silver service offered which is just not relevant in 2013. The place needs a menu and design makeover and a few less hovering staff. Disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Superb service, great Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This restaurant is upmarket. Don't come here to dine on a budget. Having gotten that out of the way I have to say this is quite a memorable place to dine. The service is exceptional, not in your face, but always there. Happy to share a story or make a suggestion or just stay out of the way.

Three of us chose the six course banquet which left us completely satisfied. Lovely variety from the delicate pearl meat through to the melt-in-the-mouth beef steak in Szechwan sauce. I don't think that I would want to eat here every night of the week but for a very special occasion it is absolutely perfect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Keogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, superb service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Basically find it hard to fault this place! We had quite a large group of about 10 people, some ordered off the set menu some didn't but somehow the food was still brought out at the right sort of intervals so no one was sat too long with nothing in front of them. My glass was never empty, water was always topped up, other drinks regularly checked, but not too often as to interrupt conversation. My food was delicious (I had wontons, lamb spring rolls and beef noodles), tasty and perfectly cooked and the staff are happy to advise if you're not sure what's what. Everyone else was more than satisfied with the winter tasting menu. Don't let the price put you off it's worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pixiedust_12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn
Level Contributor
206 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Great squid and Peking duck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was the right combination of great food and service. Our waiter helped us create an impromptu tasting menu to share. We had fried squid, dumplings, Peking duck pancakes and seafood noodles. This is not nouvelle Chinese but if you like traditional cuisine that is well prepared and very tasty go to Flower Drum.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nashville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flower Drum also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Flower Drum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing