We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great squid and Peking duck”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flower Drum

Flower Drum
Reserve with
Flower Drum is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 4,053 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Nashville, Tn
Level Contributor
206 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Great squid and Peking duck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was the right combination of great food and service. Our waiter helped us create an impromptu tasting menu to share. We had fried squid, dumplings, Peking duck pancakes and seafood noodles. This is not nouvelle Chinese but if you like traditional cuisine that is well prepared and very tasty go to Flower Drum.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nashville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    210
    137
    46
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peking Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Service at Flower Drum was faultless. Waiters everywhere but unobtrusive and very knowledgable and proud of their workplace. We recommend the four course winter tasting menu, super delicious, Peking duck was faultless and toffee apple to die for. Must get the toffee apple!

We ordered the wagyu upgrade for main, however were not charged for it because the waiter believed it was not up to standard. It was beautiful and perfectly cooked!!

We can see why Flower Drum has stood the test of time, what a class act.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We dined at Flower Drum two nights after a faultless dining experience at Silks, so it was a great opportunity to compare Melbourne's two most upmarket Chinese Restaurants. They are different to each other, but of equally high quality.

Flower Drum was a Friday night, the restaurant was busy but not fully booked. We liked the way tables were spaced out. Very nice room, nice ambience. Waiters were everywhere, and service was excellent yet unobtrusive. We ordered a la carte; Braised Abalone, Siu Mai, Peking Duck, Chilli Prawns with Singapore Noodles, Toffee Apples. All beautiful, the Peking Duck in pancakes was the best I have ever had, anywhere in the world.

Our main waiter was extremely helpful in explaining sauces etc. The wine list is excellent. We will definitely return on future visits to Melbourne.

Prices reflect the quality of a true fine dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mickthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
415 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“Living in the Seventies!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I live in Sydney and have heard about the Flower Drum for decades and finally decided to go over the long weekend whilst we were in Melbourne for the NGV Monet Garden exhibition.

Our first sort-of disappointment came earlier when I was told that neither Saturday nor Sunday evenings were available but that Saturday lunch was available so we booked that and rationalised that this was not necessarily a bad thing as it was probably indicative of continuing high standards and hence popularity.

Our waiter convinced me that I should have the Autumn Tasting Lunch and I duly ordered the Peking Duck followed by the Steamed Wild Barramundi Fillet.

My wife opted for the a la carte and ordered three courses (two entrees and one main).

Despite some ‘rave reviews’ on TA, the Peking Duck was just average and I’ve often had a lot better at far less salubrious restaurants in Sydney. The Barramundi tasted superb – lovely fleshy fillet cooked to perfection with a delicious light sauce. The trouble was that it was all gone in about in about three or four bites. It had to be the smallest fillet of fish that I’ve ever been served in any restaurant ever in my forty years of dining at restaurants both in Australia and elsewhere. I made mention of this to the waiter who just smiled sheepishly and I gained the impression that this was not the first time that he had heard similar comments. And whilst on the subject of service, I thought all the silly ballyhoo and showmanship of table waiter food finishing went out with the seventies. Not so here it seems. We had to endure the tiresome ritual of Peking Duck being wrapped at our table with consequent loss of heat and the same silly showmanship with my wife’s main course which also ended up insufficiently hot.

My wife was also not happy with her courses both because of the aforementioned and the blandness of every dish.

We thought that maybe we were old dining dinosaurs but it seems that we have moved on but Flower Drum has not. Ticked that box and won’t be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A class act”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Fantastic service and food, although very expensive, but worth paying for a special occasion. Visited with my elderly mother and she was treated like royalty - just lovely for her.

Helpful?
Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flower Drum also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Flower Drum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing