We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food Wine and Service”
Review of Ezard

Ezard
Reserve with
Ezard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $140
Cuisines: Asian, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: EZARD has been serving Teage Ezard’s acclaimed ‘Australian freestyle’ cuisine for seventeen years in a sleek subterranean dining room in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Guests are invited to indulge in a variety of ways: from a weekday express lunch or pre-theatre dinner, to an eight course tasting menu replete with complementary wines to match. Quality seasonal produce is of the utmost importance; we foster long-standing relationships with our suppliers to ensure access to the very best of Australian ingredients. The menu continually evolves to take advantage of each ingredient at the height of its flavour, colour, appearance and quality.
1 review
“Excellent Food Wine and Service”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have hosted a dinner in the private dinning room and was most impressed at the quality of the food, assistance with the wine and excellent service. Well done!

I have also attended in a small gathering and appreciated the attention given to the finer things and courteous service with excellent food.

the dumplings are my favourite!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    143
    58
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Lovely 8 course degustation meal.
They were able to work around a few of the dietary requirements .
A must try in Melbourne.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha777s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food ever”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Was not my first time to Ezard and will not be my last. Food is always amazing. Service is always very good. Cant wit to come back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food but not rave-worthy”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Starter: Japanese inspired oyster shooters - very tasty.

Mains: Gold band snapper, red roast baby chicken. Both dishes very well done.

Afters: Chestnut and yuzu semifreddo etc., 3 cheeses. Both dessert and cheese very good.

Wine: By the glass: Chestnut Hill Liberty Chardonnay, Curly Flat Pinot Noir (both terrific); then glasses of sauternes and PX (nice but the PX was more like a port than luscious / chocolate-like).

We were underwhelmed by the flavours. Nothing wrong with the mains but (for example) the predominant flavour in the chicken was 5 spice and really didn't taste a lot different to many other simple and far less expensive dishes at other restaurants.

Service was attentive.

Overall good but for $200+ for two it was very expensive for food that was nice but nothing to rave about in our view.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMRFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back in a heart beat!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We ate here in December on our first night in Melbourne and brought along out 2.5 year old son to an early seating to enjoy a 5 course degustation.

The head waiter who looked after us for most our evening, made us and our son feel very welcome. They have great city chic ambience. But above all the flavours and dishes of all our courses were simply stunning and an experience firmly logged into the recesses of our mind. Would definitely go back in a heart beat!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevemaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ezard also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Ezard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing