We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waht can you say its Ezards.”
Review of Ezard

Ezard
Ranked #46 of 4,065 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $147
Cuisines: Asian, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: EZARD has been serving Teage Ezard’s acclaimed ‘Australian freestyle’ cuisine for seventeen years in a sleek subterranean dining room in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Guests are invited to indulge in a variety of ways: from a weekday express lunch or pre-theatre dinner, to an eight course tasting menu replete with complementary wines to match. Quality seasonal produce is of the utmost importance; we foster long-standing relationships with our suppliers to ensure access to the very best of Australian ingredients. The menu continually evolves to take advantage of each ingredient at the height of its flavour, colour, appearance and quality.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“waht can you say its Ezards.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

love this place truly amazing restaurant but you will pay for it only issue felt like was a meeting place for lawyers as lots of men dressed in expensive suits having meeting so took away some of its Atmosphere but still a great place and food will never disappoint.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roscoe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    144
    58
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
5,255 reviews
2,923 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,870 helpful votes
“Always special and exciting”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It's an easy choice as it is so centrally located to hotels where I stay but it is always offers excitement and innovation.
Although expensive, it just means I only go a couple of times each year instead of more frequently but that makes each occasion special.
Good service and top food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic fine dining experience - perfect for a special occasion”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

In a city that has its share of fine dining restaurants, Ezard is a stayer, and has been around for a number of years. I have dined there several times and always been extremely happy with the food and the service. Our last experience there was no exception.
It is expensive (mains around the $50 mark) but the quality of food is brilliant in taste and presentation. While my partner's main looked small, it was filling. The wait staff are really knowledgeable about the food and wines, and are great about anticipating your needs (wine and water glasses were kept topped up throughout the night).
Special mention to one of my favourite things in restaurant - the olive oil and the different dipping salts that you get to have with bread as a starter - surprising delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Supers_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great choice for fine dining”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Every dish is clearly prepared with a lot of care, the presentation is meticulous, which matches the pristine interior of the restaurant.
We opted for the spanner crab dumplings and pork belly for entree, the duck and sher wagyu for main. All dishes were of adequate size, beautiful in sight and flavour and all cooked to perfection.
The service was exceptional even though it was a busy evening and the staff very accommodating. It is obviously on the costly side of restaurants but certainly worth the $$, it is in the top 5 restaurants in Victoria in the AGFG for a good reason. Overall a great experience and one I am keen to repeat in the future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 547DanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top notch dining”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We went with a group of four on our last day of touring in Melbourne. We went for the degustation 8 course meal. It was an exceptional 3 hour experience. Expensive? You bet. Value for the dollar? Debateable. But the food was exquisite, the staff were remarkably knowledgeable, and the service was peerless. I wouldn't consider this a restaurant that you visit monthly, but it's a meal that you could easily remember for the rest of your life.

Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Ezard also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Ezard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing