We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of ezard

ezard
Reserve with
ezard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 4,034 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $138
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

First time at Ezard and one of the best meals i've had in Melbourne. Went for standard a la' carte over the degustation menu and I think this was a good choice, given better portion sizes and speed of service, the 8 course degustation looked a little tiresome on some of our dining neighbours. Started with Canadian scallops and the beetroot salad. 2 great dishes. Followed on by the Sher Wahgyu and twice cooked duck, both dishes great, but the texture and flavour of the wahgyu was sensational, best i've had. Dessert salted caramel parfait and mango bavarois, exceptional!
Ok, this place isn't cheap. We had aperitifs on arrival, glass of white each with entree's and a bottle of Blaufränkisch ($100- Austrian red wine, burgundy meets rhone as described by Sommelier, great choice), beer to finish and 2 ea x entree, mains and dessert, $450......
At this price it needs to be good, really good! I can honestly say that the presentation and technical brilliance of our meals at Ezard has surpassed the majority of meals i've had in recent years.
Supported by exceptional service this was an experience to remember. Not sure i can afford to hurry back, but back i will be.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    141
    58
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, but a bit exy”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Saturday night for friend's birthday - we chose the three course option (not the degustation). Plenty of choice, and the food was really excellent. Started with a swordfish shooter, which was brilliant. We chose the mixed deserts, which seemed designed to show off the chef's creativity, but it was over the top and too much for us. A good selection of wines available, but organised in a bizarre and unhelpful way on the wine card.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank turneretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited recently for my husbands bday dinner and decided to go for the 8 course degustation menu. We went to eat at Ezard a number of years back and thoroughly enjoyed it, hence why we decided to return. Food was disappointing for the price we paid, there was a lot of effort put into presentation of the food, waiters were very chatty and friendly but for $350 dinner for 2 i think i expected a little bit more. Serves were tiny, which is expected for fine dining restaurants but by the end of it, there was not one great dish that stood out. Everything was just nice or so so, nothing spectacular as you would expect from a hatted expensive restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauryn_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely stylish restaurant and great value lunch”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had a lovely Valentine's lunch here on my first taste of Australian Chef Hat rated food ( after visiting several UK and European Michelin Starred restaurants). We shared one of the set lunches along with some courses from the a la carte menu. It was excellent, I'd highly recommend it. The food was great and the ambience and staff were lovely. It's a lot less stuffy than European restaurants (less of a dress code) but just as good quality. If you're in Melbourne, give it a try!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thecockboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazingly Good!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had dined at this restaurant years ago and wasn't sure what to expect but from when we arrived we knew this place had lost none of it's appeal that it had back then. Great service with a really lovely waiter who showed us the highlights of the menu. I ended up having the duck and it was amazing, lots of flavor and one of the best I've tried. My partner had the barramundi and again the flavors were fantastic. I asked them to match a wine and had a pinot noir from geelong, I was told it was one of the countries best, it didn't disappoint. It's at the top end of dining in Melbourne, but worth it for the quality.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ezard also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to ezard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing