We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eis

Eis
Ranked #1,447 of 4,053 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Albert Park
Melbourne,Victoria
Level Contributor
173 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

What a find, this gem of a restaurant in Albert Park.
Strongly recommended by the trendsetters of my family who are regular diners at Eis and rave about the consistent excellence.
All the food was amazing both in taste and presentation, with a very good wine list to accompany.
Great service by very pleasant staff, with Hiro the owner graciously welcoming us to his restaurant.
No complaints about this establishment and highly recommend to all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trurab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Eis is a charming Japanese restaurant in Albert Park, close to where I used to live. The food and service are both excellent, though the bill can quickly add up when ordering a few starter dishses. There aren't a huge number of options on the dinner menu, but the ones that are there are all great, especially the tuna with salsa and the steak dish. They also server a chocolate brownie for dessert, which is wonderful. The wait staff are delightful, very friendly, and highly professional. I took my partner and parents here for dinner, and my mother commented that it was one of the best meals she had ever had. I don't go to Eis too often as it is quite expensive, but I always enjoy it when I do. I'd recommend it for a special occasion, and be sure to book.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“japanese with integrity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We're locals and are amazed that people aren't beating down the door to eat here. The ingredients used are top quality and there is such finesse in the way the meals are put together. It might seem like an unusual addition to a Japanese menu, but you must try the pumpkin soup - who would have thought that prawns and black truffle could blend so well with pumpkin. But it's the sashimi we keep going back for, especially the scallop carpaccio. You'll be fighting your partner for that single piece. The wine list has a pleasant selection, but there's always the bottle shop next door if you want something extra special, just like this restaurant located in Albert Park

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheofthebroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Japanese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

This restaurant does really good Japanese food. Good portions and nice wine list to match the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Best sushi and sashimi I...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

Best sushi and sashimi I have had in Melbourne!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eis also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Albert Park, Port Phillip
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Eis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing