We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Dragon Boat Restaurant
Ranked #797 of 4,029 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Warragul
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

A well run restaurant and good food. The service was good as well. We enjoyed the experience and it wasn't too pricey either.

All the food was cooked well and an enjoyable meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    51
    26
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bungendore, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Yum Cha”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A great yum cha experience. It was all tasty. Good for our health, all the trolleys that came to us before we were full were steamed, although it would have nice to have a little more variety and to try the fried food.

We also managed to only pick one of the lowest priced options; no huge differences in prices but we expected to naturally end up with more of a range of prices.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ConradHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best chinese food ever tasted!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My daughter and i were at Knox Ozone last week and she wanted Chinese food for lunch so we went to the Dragon Boat. The menu choices were many and varied including yum cha. We decided on the menu so chose a variety of entrees. Wow! Ive eaten alot of Chinese food in the past but this was delicious! Seafood Laksa - enough curry to enjoy without spoiling the gentle flavours of the incredibly tender seafood, pork and prawn dumplings - tender, juicy and Incredible flavour, wontons so light and crisp that my 2 year old grandson who is a tiny eater ate all of them in minutes, the rest of the food was the same, wonderful flavours, cooked to perfection and delicious. Prices a little higher than your standard chinese restaurant but with real linen tablecloths and excellent service it was worth it. Will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Hom Sui Gok”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I love my Yum Cha Sundays with friends. We quite often head in to Dragonboat, we have never once had an issue with getting seated. they have amazing fresh food and a warm comforting approach to service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Go early, not late”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have to admit, we did arrive at 1530, but as they advertise yum cha 1200 - 1700 I do not think it is unreasonable to expect hot, freshly cooked food no matter what time you arrive. While some fresh dumplings came out as we were about to leave, we had cold greasy squid, lukewarm pork ribs, cold prawn and seaweed rolls and cold stewed tea before we gave up. I haven't eaten here since the renovation, but while the surroundings are fresher and more modern I don't think the food or the service is as good as it once was.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon Boat Restaurant also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Dragon Boat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing