We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Italian in St Kilda Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cicciolina

Cicciolina
Ranked #122 of 3,633 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Best Italian in St Kilda Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We popped in for a late lunch to this little Italian restaurant in Akland St, St Kilda. We had tuna carpacio, seared scallops with blood sausage crumble and cauliflower puree as well as the linguine vongole. This is such a good restaurant. We chatted with some locals who have been coming here for years and said the food is always this good. try the espresso cocktails. This is a real treat!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doneitalready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    74
    19
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stunning, Gorgeous, Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Was in St Kilda and looked up restaurants on tripadvisor and found this little gem and I am so glad i did as it was a beautiful meal. Its a little bizzare outside as Acland St is a little scruffy with that kind of seaside town boardwalk feel, the restaurant itself is tiny and I only found it when i saw the sign advertising their bar down the side alley (its behind the restaurant). Once in the restaurant, the tables are so close together that you feel like you are stumbling off the street into someones living room but this is all part of the charm. You feel like a member of a secret club. Its ace. I had a lamb special with chestnut gnocchi and it was just beautiful. I cant compliment the food and the service enough as all the staff were very friendly and really made me feel welcome despite eating on my own, even when they were full and needed the table. Get there early because it does get full quickly even on a monday night but above all, get there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Weekend long lunch perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Love Cicciolina. Outside is not impressive so get inside and enjoy a relaxed time in a great atmosphere. Our visits have always been on Saturday/Sunday for a long lunch and we ask for a table at the front so we can people watch which, in Acland Street, is always worth it. This is a "take it or leave it" place so go with a positive attitude, have one drink/bottle too many and enjoy a great menu with fun staff. Food is very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful rustic Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Great food. A little squashy. Good place to meet friends.
Bad luck you can't book
But go early and no probs

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juliamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
190 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Easy Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We started at one end of Acland Street, but it was decided to re-visit this great restaurant as it had been awhile.
The place was empty when we arrived just one other table. Spoilt for choices we sat front and centre.
The staff, two lovely ladies were most helpful in getting us settled with drinks ordered in good time.
We lingered before we ordered our lunches.
The choices are all good solid meals that most would like. We all (four of us) ordered meals from the sea, and I can say that none of us were disappointed. My fish was just perfect, and the others had no complaints.
A reasonably quick lunch with a great red and coffees to finish. We were only there for 100 minutes but they were well spent. Go any time you pass by.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cicciolina also viewed

Balaclava, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to Cicciolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing