We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot - not cheap but great food & wine”
Review of Caffe e Cucina

Caffe e Cucina
Ranked #135 of 4,179 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chapel Street
Reviewed June 16, 2014

After a long day of business meetings wander in, food good, a Brunello de Montalcino available by the glass (stopped me from drinking a bottle!!) Great simple but succulent dishes, open decently long hours. I have been here as half of a couple, part of a party of 4 and often as a solo. Always feel welcome, food and service great. Not a "cheap eat" so don't come unless you are prepared for the cost - so if your idea of Italian is a franchised chain it is not. But for special occasions or after a long day of work - great fun.

1  Thank JT1952_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaffeeCucina, Manager at Caffe e Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review. We have to stop ourselves from drinking that Brunello di Montalcino!! So glad you like it. Not too many restaurants will offer that by the glass so we're glad to get positive feedback to know that we made a good decision! I will ensure your feedback is passed on to the team as it helps motivate us to be even better all the time! We hope to welcome you again soon whether solo or as a group - you are always welcome. Grazie mille!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 214 of 372 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had dinner at Caffe e Cucina last year and had an enjoyable but expensive dining experience. A craving for tiramisu brought us here one evening purely to have dessert having already eaten somewhere else for dinner. We were seated outside and ordered the tiramisu and the creme brulee, at $16 each. Our waiter was very efficient and friendly but that didn't make up for the simple desserts he brought us. The tiramisu was lackluster and no amount of stencil decoration on the plate could justify its cost. Church Street Enoteca (recently reviewed) had a fantastic and memorable tiramisu for the same price. The creme brulee was standard with two pieces of store-bought tasting lemon biscotti, a disappointment. We noticed that the couple next to us had dinner but did not order desserts -- a very wise decision as the desserts we had were not value for money. May I suggest that the pastry chef (if they have one) skip the pedestrian decoration and focus on making the desserts special and worth the price - alternatively, lower the price to $8 as that is what they are worth. Sorry Caffee e Cucina, you lost me as a future customer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MRYMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaffeeCucina, Manager at Caffe e Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you very much for providing your feedback on your recent experience with us. We are sorry to hear that the desserts you ordered did not live up to expectations. We encourage feedback on social media as it allows us the opportunity to reflect on what we are doing well and what we can do better. However, we also feel that had you mentioned your concerns on the evening, we could have done our utmost to ensure you left having had a better experience and also consider returning to us again. In terms of the cost, they are in line with competitors in the area and we also believe in line with the quality as our pastry chef regularly receives good feedback on the desserts. We hope you visit us again and allow us to ensure a better experience is had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Lovely place for a good meal, staff knows what they are doing. And they have given us a lovely recommendation, which was fantastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Htein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaffeeCucina, Manager at Caffe e Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your feedback - so happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and that the guys provided a good recommendation! We hope that we can welcome you back in the not so distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Went with a few friends and I must say the atmosphere is lovely and service is great , food was good too, but the wine list prices are a bit on the $$$ . It was noisy, but that is probably because of the size. I've tried this one, in my opinion there are better Italian restaurants in South Yarra area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave_C62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This small restaurant was one of the highlights of our trip to Melbourne. The atmosphere was matched by the lovely and knowledgable staff who picked the perfect wine to go with the meal, which was also excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaffeeCucina, Manager at Caffe e Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback. So happy to hear that your experience dining with us was one of your Melbourne highlights! I wish to let you know that it is reviews like this that truly motivate us to continue to love what we do and ensure every customer leaves our doors happy! We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe e Cucina also viewed

 

Been to Caffe e Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing