We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great northern chinese restaurant in Little Bourke St”

Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #115 of 4,029 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Bondi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great northern chinese restaurant in Little Bourke St”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I dined here recently on a Friday night with for a work dinner, walking up the lane, the resturant looks like a set from a 90s movie with the neon sign and the large ormental doors. On a Friday night, the place was packed and we had an excellent banquet with a good variety of dishes, the Peking duck being a highlight.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wavesBondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    82
    24
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
150 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“great group dinner”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went on a saturday night in September 2012. There were 12 of us for a wedding anniversary and we had a great night. The banquet was ideal, timing/quality of food and service cannot be faulted. Nothing amazing overall, but reliable. Will definetely come back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Watto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Impeccable”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Dined here on a Saturday night with no reservation. We were welcomed with a couple of concerned looks, until finally the host said “We can seat you but we need the table by 7:15”. I told him that didn’t worry us if they could deliver the meals in time. Well, let me tell you they certainly held up their end of the bargain. The service was speedy, but at no stage did we feel rushed. We ordered steamed dumplings to begin with, followed by the Dry Fried beef, Lamb and Vegetables, Vegetables and Steamed Rice. It was all absolutely magnificent. The dry fried beef in particular was a highlight for me. It’s very hard to get it right without it becoming glorified beef jerky, but this was just perfect. Crispy, yet tender and flavoursome. We didn’t order the duck, but after reading these reviews I’m going back to do so.
Price was pretty fair I felt. We had the meal described which was more than enough for 4, and a drink each with the total coming in at $140. I thought this very reasonable given the quality of the food and service. Will return in a heartbeat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Still the best Peking Duck in town!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although the owner have changed, the food still remains fantastic at Bamboo House. Why pay a fortune at Flower Drum when you can get great service and delicious Chinese here?! The Peking Duck is the best in the city! Another amazing dish is the chicken with walnuts. I have no idea what they do to make them caramelized but they are truly out of this world amazing!!!!!!!
Service is impeccable. My favourite waiter no longer works there (Danny?) and I miss him whenever I visit from Canada!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseeker1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great night”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Brilliant food, service was a little slow though. Had a really enjoyable with friends before they returned to Holland. The Peking duck was to die for . A great meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing