We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #119 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We got the Peking duck, crispy beef and shredded pork. All were absolutely superb. Highly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Windsor19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    82
    24
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing authentic great staff”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our meal was incredible. Had the Peking duck and was so delicious. The waitress told us it was the best in town, cooked to perfection. The staff are very attentive and so helpful as we didn't know what a lot of things were so she explained everything we asked and even recommended what to try. Will definitely be back - next time the tea smoked duck!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Brilliant - expert service, wonderful food”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My goodness, been coming to Chinatown for years, and hadn't discovered this gem until now. Right at the top end of little Bourke (Spring Street end), we thought it was shut, but push open the door to the bustle. It's clear from the start that the staff are pros, but the food is what will bring me back Simply the best chinese we have had in Australia. The tea smoked duck in lotus flower bun was a highlight, as was the Sichuan beef and the delightful pork and jellyfish. Our waiter paced our meal beautifully, as well as silver serving even the dumplings ( and the soup dumplings were better than, for instance, Hutongs)
Can't wait to go back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stylish and great food”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Dined here with two others last night and first impression was how lovely the decor was. If you were after somewhere to go out and celebrate a birthday etc this is perfect. Excellent food- Buffets usually cater for 5 or more people yet our waiter was happy to accomadate us by adjusting the menu so that we got the favourite dishes . Generous servings knowedgable and pleasant staff. Iwill definately dine here again. Our meal was $211 with one round of alcoholic drinks and water. Buffet was priced at $56 pp if it was 5 or more but we dropped one dish which left us with 5 dishes and one dessert to share.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MimSunbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant for Celebtration”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We visited Bamboo House to welcome the Year of the Snake. The restaurant was decorated with snakes in honour of the Year and a really terrific dragon visited and performed for about 15 or 20 minutes in the restaurant before our fireworks. There were more than 3 meters of crackers with the dragon dancing around - it is worth going outsdie to see it all happen - very loud, so this establishment should have a very lucky year. Tip: Bring some red notes to put in the lucky envelopes and get up as high as you can to make the dragon rise up to eat your money for extra luck! We ate one of the banquets on offer. San Choi Bow, steamed dimsum - a green rice wonton prawn dumpling was excellent, chicken and corn soup, prawns with ginger and snow peas, peking duck - always excellent here the whole duck brought to the table, and thick meaty slices in the pancakes, chicken (sorry, running out of steam can't remember the sauce), cantonese beef - really succulent and juicy, and custard pancakes to finish - had not had these before and really did not need dessert, but they were delicious with a creamy ice cream, so had to be consumed. Very good value for $56. Good wine selection and chinese beer on offer. The service is impeccable with nothing too much trouble even on a busy night. It is always really special here, and even better on Chinese New Year.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samiseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing