We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Yum Cha”

AY Oriental Tea House
Ranked #1,020 of 4,034 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chapel Street
Oz
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Yum Cha”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Great food, try the spicy pork dumplings. Sensational. Also the raspberry & lime tea cold.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Onecountryatatime88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    38
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous dim sum”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Went for lunch and ordered several dimsum dishes and really enjoyed each one. Service was quick, fun atmosphere and affordable.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Eurotraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
202 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Different”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We were seated and welcomed with a tea tasting which was very refreshing. The dumplings we had were delicious and the pot of silver needle tea wonderful.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Orbeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tea area to taste and purchase at the front of the restaurant.”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We had dinner in the rear of the restaurant. The area we were in was very hot, I'm not sure if the airconditioner was on.
The food was good nothing to rave on about.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AZos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gotten more lively with young people and cheap for good quality food”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I have to recommend your restaurant! I have found the some of your dumplings and noodles actually better than Hu Tong. Your dumplings are always fresh, and I love that! Your restaurant has a lot of beautiful things to look at and buy. Add more! :) Your tables could be a bit bigger though especially for a large catering of people. In recent years, I have noticed a decrease in price which is fantastic so we love dining here every weekend. I would recommend the mixed/cheap food to be of a better quality. I would recommend you to make your meals cheaper for birthday special occasions for young people. Like have five dumplings for the price of three instead, and have more dumplings served on the table. You need to start having a takeaway service too for locals in South Yarra and city to order your fantastic food! Well done though!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sirani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AY Oriental Tea House also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Yarra, Greater Melbourne
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to AY Oriental Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing