We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Melbourne
Post
Inbox
Search

“The absolutely BEST place to eat in Melbourne”
Review of Scopri

Scopri
Reserve a Table
2
Sat, 2/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #3 of 5,475 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Fitzroy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would travel back from Texas to Australia just to eat here. The food and service (our waiter acted more like an owner) was first rate. The absolutely best homemade pasta I have ever tasted. My husband and I couldn't stop raving about this experience. Go and enjoy!!! But you need reservations, as it is not a large venue.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank TexasJane09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We travel to Melbourne every January for the Australian Open and were recommended this restaurant by locals.
WOW. A relatively small restaurant situated on main road outside the city. From the outside it looks like an old terrace house, on the inside a small intimate dinning room. The food really reminded me of Italy. The pasta was all freshly made in house, and the ingredients especially the vegetables obviously from surroundings Farms. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank sydfoodie2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovley dinner at Scopri. The waiter was terrific at matching our byo wines with our menu of Oysters, Beef Carpaccio, Calamari, Scallops, Agnolotti and Ribeye. Impeccable food combined with superb service. No question we will be back again, as Scopri is a gem in the Melbourne / Italian restaurant scene. Absolutely faultless except for the fact that the night passed too quickly.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank alessandromM3359AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Like most people we found this restaurant through the many rave reviews and were excited to visit and as foodies enjoy every second.
Firstly the food; zucchini flowers were tasteless apart from the strong olive oil, not sure what the orange sauce flavour should have been but it was missing.
Then the Calamari that was average and entirely forgettable.
The star; the Oysters that were delicious but served with an astringent and inedible vinegrette and shallot dressing.
The Flounder that was very tasty and beautifully presented but which non of the servers offered to plate for us. Bizarre as even the calamari was offered for plating. Not something I was expecting but showed terrible service etiquette.
The Steak perfectly cooked where the server offered to plate for us having explained that it was already sliced to then find the the steak was only sliced once, whereupon she hurriedly ran to get a knife and started hacking.
We ordered a stellar Barolo that was delicious and decanted but the server was determined to minimise his need to serve us so we had one bottle served to us in three hefty lots, which did not do it justice. On top of this every time we were served water a huge splash landed on my sleeve and table place with no comment.
Finally, the service and overall team ambience; obviously there are huge issues between kitchen and service and this is maybe why the manager was busy lurking around every table with a menacing eye on his staff. There was a tangible atmosphere where even we were reluctant to be honest about our experience.
What’s sad is that this could have been so great but the horrible service the bland food and the general chaos between staff means we won’t go back and that’s the best way we can vote, is with our feet. So many better places to go in Melbourne, unless you’re very local, don’t bother.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Littleblueblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Amazing service and food, perfect in exquisite detail, accompanied by great Italian wine and an intimate, relaxing setting. My best restaurant experience in Melbourne.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Z4214UCchrism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scopri also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Scopri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing