We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprising delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amiconi

Amiconi
Ranked #119 of 4,055 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A surprising delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

My first visit and it was far, far better than I expected. Complimentary olives to start, a wonderful daily special entree (vegetarian), OK bread with good oil and balsamic and a generous dessert plate to share with delicious tastes. The wine list is fine and well priced, the service excellent. My companion's veal was huge and not very appealing looking but apparently it was also very good. I will certainly go again and will recommend it as a restaurant with good, honest Italian food and friendly, professional staff.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    32
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Have been dining at this restaurant for years. Italian food just like nonna makes. Always packed so booking is a must. The banquet is to die for and you won't go home dissapointed, so cheap for the amount of quality food you get. Don't know about the guy complaining about mussels, but the linguine marinara is def. one of the better seafood pastas I have ever eaten.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
198 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“what a disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

These guys are so arrogant. Went there for the second time in 3 months, ordered seafood pasta, and guess what? They don't bother cleaning the mussels. I am so over complaining, over telling them about it that I will never ever go there again.

What was good 40 years ago aint any good now!

Too much oil, too much attitude and too much garbage in the mussels

They don't deserve our business!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenjenrossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Been going here for nearly 40 years. Marvellous, authentic Italian food. Licensed and BYO.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nholding57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amiconi also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Amiconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing