We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good family apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribeca Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tribeca Serviced Apartments
Ranked #48 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Melbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good family apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I actually live in Melbourne but had to move out of our house for 3 nights during renovations.

I searched for reasonable value 2 bedroom apartment for our family of 4. To my surprise I could find little under $200-250 per night. Melbourne has become very expensive.

Tribeca was a relative good deal- approximately $185 per night for a decent size 2 bedroom apartment. We were on the 10th floor with nice views (not sure if this was an upgrade). The beds were comfortable, useful kitchen, decent size rooms in a reasonable location- a walk or tram ride to town.

If I had to find fault it would be the white vinyl longue and the basin which was difficult to use.

You are in an area with lovely parks, not far from the city. But you are not in the city, so need to weigh up the better value against the walk or cost of tram fare to the city.

By the way there is all day parking on Victoria street on the inside lane, apartment side for only 60 cents per hour, free after 6.30pm. Much cheaper than parking in the apartments.

We had fish and chip down stairs. Not cheap, but nice.

Enjoy Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    86
    42
    21
    13
See reviews for
83
28
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

You couldn't wish for a better place to stay in Melbourne. The compassion and care shown has been amazing and we have been so grateful at a very worrying time. The two bedroom executive apartment contained everything you could possibly need and the convenience of the IGA supermarket, wine store, coffee shop, pizza shop where you can buy wi-fi internet access (if you don't own an ipad) in the apartment made the stay perfect. The tram is on Victoria Street almost at the door, a walk across the beautiful Fitzroy Gardens to the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre takes the pressure off in case of an emergency. We will be back time and time again. Thank you to all at Tribeca and especially Belinda who has gone above and beyond her duty to make our time easier.

Room Tip: An executive apartment facing south in the summer is good to keep the sun off the windows. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here with a colleague in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 8th floor for 2 nights for a business trip. Spacious apartment, tastefully decorated with small but adequate balcony & 2 chairs & table, with a view over Melbourne. Good sized combined lounge/ dining room with dining table that seats 6. Kitchen well stocked with cutlery & crockery, Washing machine & clothes dryer in a cupboard next to the bathroom. Both bedrooms a good size, only one with a wardrobe & hanging space, however plenty of storage space in drawers. No problems with street noise overnight, as previously described by some reviewers.

IGA supermarket on the ground floor caters for grocery essentials. Also a good coffee shop. Fitzroy gardens 2 minutes walk away & a variety of great restaurants within 10 minutes walking distance. Public transport at the door.

It was really nice to come back in the evenings to the space of an apartment rather than the confines of a hotel room. I seriously don't understand why previous reviewers have criticised this property. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyToscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment with my wife, 2 kids and visiting parents noting was to much trouble I rang just before booking to see if it was ok to get extra bed for the children no problem and when we arrived easy cheek in late cheek out and the receptionist even let us park our cars in there car park for the whole day free of charge so we could go to the momba celebration.
Too be honest me and my wife stay in the city all the time and are rarely completely satisfied but with the price being so reasonable the amazing city views the swimming pool, gym, finish of the apartment, proximity to the city and to top it all off with staff so friendly and honest. I and all my friends and family will be coming back to stay here

Room Tip: 13 floor best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaran b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for one night on a business trip. Our university booked four rooms in total, all of which were different. I was extremely happy with the size, cleanliness and modern furniture in my apartment. Receptionist was pleasant and informative. An IGA, coffeeshop and pizza cafe are situated at the entrance to the apartments. Smith Street, which was one street over, is full of restaurants. A tram stop is straight opposite the building. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rarebreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have read the positive reviews of the Tribeca Serviced Apartments in Melbourne and feel sorry to have to now write a relatively negative review but my experience was just not a favourable one. There is no doubt that family and groups wanting to base themselves at this complex during a more lengthy holiday than one night, would find the apartments a well priced alternative to hotels but for a busness traveller, it was a dismal experience. The reception attendant was friendly and welcoming so I have no criticism there at all but it was when I entered the apartment that I almost caught a flight home early even after an exhausting day of meetings. A colleague had stayed there the night before and had given it a poor rating but I decided I would decide for myself. On entering the apartment, it was lovely and cool as the air conditioning had been throughtfully put on. This was a plus. However, I was disappointment to find a 'bunker' type unit, polished concrete floors, stark walls, not a bit of warmth in the way of rugs or soft furnishings. The bedroom was the first room after walking down a longish hall of wasted space, to the right the galley style kitchen, basic but functional and then the stark lounge area.
Every blind was pulled down in the unit so there was no natural light. I soon found out why. Every window in my unit gave the space a fishbowl effect with views from every angle looking straight into my apartment. The small balcony I did venture out on looked directly on to the arcade below with people staring up at me from every turn. No balcony chairs or table to give it a more relaxed effect. Whilst the apartment was clean, it showed signs of wear and tear and needed a paint and some repair. Some cups in the kitchen cupboard were not clean and had tea or coffee marks left inside.
Due to the bunker like effect (odd design and cold concrete minimalistic setting) I could not get reception on my mobile phone and when I did, the calls dropped out and my work email would not load. I felt cut off from the outside and strangely, uncomfortable. I did not venture downstairs to get food from the arcade for two reasons - limited food and travelling as a woman on her own, I did not feel particularly safe to do that later in the evening. The reception closes reasonably early so if anything goes wrong, you are certainly 'on your own'.
The bathroom was an odd design and cheap in decor. The basin had no where at all to put soap for hand washing and when I had a shower, the water strangely would not only go down the shower drain but flowed out into the bathroom itself and down that the drain in the middle of the floor which meant the floor was wet all night. Whilst towels were clean, there was no face washer at all which may not worry others but made me annoyed. The shower rose was small and a tall person would be flat out trying to get under the spray of water at all.
My bedroom was very close to the entrance downstairs to the arcade and people were laughing and talking into the night which felt like they were in the room with me. No sleep after a very early flight that day and long business meeting, made for a rather irritated individual the next day. Not to mention the bed was hard as were the pillows!
I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockstar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Have stayed at these apartments over the last 8 years and the location is brilliant with the IGA downstairs etc. The rooms are hit and miss with issues of the bathroom designs and the maintenance of all the apartments need to be upgraded, but we have been happy with the lovely girls in the office who have been very helpful over the years and would recommend these to anyone who wants to be very central and at a very reasonable price.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
0.1 mi away
Adara East Melbourne
Adara East Melbourne
#98 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Birches Serviced Apartments
Birches Serviced Apartments
#28 of 113 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aberlour Court
Aberlour Court
#5 of 113 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert
2.7 mi away
Melrose Apartments
Melrose Apartments
#19 of 113 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribeca Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribeca Serviced Apartments

Property: Tribeca Serviced Apartments
Address: 9c/166 Albert Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tribeca Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From East Melbourne’s tree lined streets, restaurant and shopping precinct to Melbourne’s vibrant CBD, Tribeca serviced apartments are perfectly situated. All our apartments are spacious and fully self contained offering the perfect home away from home. All apartments have either king or twin bedding, separate bathroom, separate living/dining area, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, private balcony or courtyard, reversed cycle air conditioning, DVD/ CD player, Foxtel & high speed broadband access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Tribeca Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribeca Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing