We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eureka Skydeck Family Trip”
Review of Eureka Skydeck 88

Eureka Skydeck 88
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.15*
and up
Eureka Skydeck 88
Ranked #13 of 410 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nothing you have ever experienced will prepare you for the awe inspiring view of Melbourne from the observation deck of the highest public vantage point in the Southern Hemisphere. Located at Level 88, Eureka Skydeck is Melbourne's new 'must-see' attraction. Skydeck 88 is the only observation deck in the world that can thrill you with the Edge - a glass cube which projects 3 metres out from the building, with you in it!
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eureka Skydeck Family Trip”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was really nervous about this trip up 88 floors but the kids were so excited. It took only a few seconds in the lift to reach the skydeck and what a fantastic experience it was. The views of Melborne are great with binoculars set up for adults and "little people" to, so that we could all get a better look at all the attractions. the light information panals on the floor were a good idea and really interesting. The kids went on the Edge (glass cube which has a glass floor and overhangs the building), which they thoroughly enjoyed. King kong was showing in Melbourne when we visited the Skydeck and a 2nd "Kong" hand (the 1st was being used in the show) was up on the skydeck. The kids had their photo's taken sitting in Kongs hand which was an added bounus.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizBendigo_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,709
    2,047
    532
    89
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Deloraine, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful on a fine day”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed next to the Skydeck so decided to fill in some time by going for a visit, arrived when it opened which was a good move as after half an hour or so it got very busy with families (it was school holidays.)
I was a beautiful clear day so the view was incredible, definitely worth doing, didn't do the Edge experience, didn't feel the need, went outside to the unglassed area and found that to be incredible, to be able to feel the wind and see the view from there was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a must visit even if you're scared of heights (I am). You travel to the 88th floor in 38 seconds and the skydeck is completely enclosed in glass so it's not so scary. The views of Melbourne are amazing. If you're brave/foolhardy you can step into the cube which overhangs the building and has a 'see through' floor although it's not recommended if you're claustrophobic or scared of heights.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Premiere view of Melbourne”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Took the family and had a great time. I really was impressed by this attraction. It was not very crowded, and the sky was clear.

The Edge was excellent but not an absolute must. However, a novel aspect to this attraction, just be aware it can be an hour plus wait to get on. My family thought it was worth the wait because how many times in your life can you be suspended 88 floors high only supported by 4cm of glass?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John_Blutarsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Fun, but poor value”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were in the city recently seeing a show and decided to check out the skydeck while we were in the area. We were thrilled to find that we received a discount with our theatre tickets. We go there just in time with a big line forming behind us as we were purchasing our tickets. As soon as we got to the top we bought our edge tickets, with an hour and a half wait. We were given a pager which would let us know when it was our turn and were free to enjoy the views while we waited.

It was right on sunset when we got up there, so we wandered around and took in the view while the sun was setting. Unfortunately it was cloudy and hazy, so not much of a sunset as such, but it was pretty seeing the city light up. That took all of about 20 minutes, so we still had about an hour's wait until our turn in the edge. We bought some drinks, but it was very crowded up there and there was really nowhere to just sit and relax. Eventually a spot cleared up on one of the benches so we were able to sit down there.

Our pager went off quite early, which was a nice bonus - it had only been about an hour. The edge was well worth doing as a once off experience, it's something quite different. I really liked one of the photos they took of us, but was not willing to part with another $15 after having already paid for our entrance tickets, then the edge tickets, then overpriced drinks while we were waiting. It certainly wasn't a cheap night out, even with the discount from the theatre tickets, but worth doing for something different.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank zanzibar138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eureka Skydeck 88 also viewed

 

Been to Eureka Skydeck 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing