We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AKOM Docklands
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$130
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$200
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$91
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$170
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$137
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$284
$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$225
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
79
49
21
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
49
21
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom apartmentnolan buildingample suppliesharbour townmelbourne stargreat locationfree tramclose to etihad stadiumtram stopmain bedroomlounge roomcar parkingspencer street stationhandy locationcooking facilitieswithin walking distancewashing machine and dryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 171 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for a week in mid December following strong recommendations from various friends. Their recommendations were matched during our stay. The family room was spacious, well equipped with all modern appliances and the staff were all attentive. As we wanted the freedom of being in a holiday apartment, as opposed to a chain hotel, we were not disappointed. Well done to the owners for providing a great facility in one of the most convenient locations in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidrobinson68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed over the christmas period at apartment @ dockland. Love it. Kids are enjoying the stay. It is very family friendly. The rates for the apartment are very reasonable. This is not the first time my family staying over. We have stayed over at this accomodation during public holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel and regret it big time. The rooms were dirty and had a bad smell. There is no free Internet and service does not respond not even in business hours. Car park facility is confusing and not safe. The views in the room I was given were not what I paid for and to top it all off they charged me an extra $200 for one of the stains on the carpet that was already there when I went in it. I feel like I just stayed in a 2.5 star hotel in a third world country. Don't stay here guys...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DanielAiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apartmentsatdockland, Manager at AKOM Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. After investigation, we found that we have clearly advised you on the phone prior to the booking that WIFI internet is chargeable which is also stated on all websites we appear on. We also advise our guests including yourselves on check-in that if damage is done to our property you will be charged cleaning cost incurred and all guests sign this agreement before check-in. Our system showed we did not charge you $200 for a stain you left on our carpets instead we charged $85 to get professional cleaners to remove it. Housekeeping report showed that your apartment was cleaned and inspected the 4.5 star standard we hold before you checked-in so we are puzzled why you have mentioned the apartment was dirty and smelly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We chose Docklands on purpose so that we were close to the public transport as we were visiting Melbourne on a shopping trip. In that respect it was a great place to stay with free city link trams and a Harbour Town Mall within walking distance.
The setup is a bit strange as you check in and then take your bags down the block and around the corner to the actual apartment. We weren't offered a trolley for our bags but fortunately they were on wheels and it wasn't raining!
The rooms look quite new when you first walk in but are a bit tired when you look more closely. There were water stains around most of the balcony doors and everything was a bit grubbier than it should have been (tiles, door tracks, walls etc). The showers need serious attention as even though we booked a 2 bed/2 bath room, we all shared the same shower as it was impossible to wash your hair under one of them as it was just a mist. The other was only marginally better. I mentioned it to reception when we checked out but judging by other reviews, they should already be aware of this problem. The single beds are very small and crammed into the room - one was quite comfortable but the other was so hard she chose to sleep on the couch instead!
I don't remember reading on the website that the rooms are only serviced/cleaned once a week but as we were only staying two nights it wasn't an issue. Not sure how much luck you would have trying to get the room cleaned or extra towels as the reception is only open 8.30-5pm (I think).
Our room was facing toward the Etihad Stadium and over the marina and was quite noisy on the Saturday night (schoolies week). This would be a great location if you were in Melbourne for something at Etihad but if not, I would recommend checking that there wasn't a concert on as it would be very noisy.
I got discounted rates online so overall we were happy with our stay but would not have wanted to pay the full advertised rate as this is not 4.5 stars in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SallyHaystacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We recenty stayed here for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. We had never stayed in the Docklands area before. The apartment itself had good facilities and was nice and new and clean although the couch was a bit on the hard side. This place is a bit out of the ordinary from the normal apratment hotel style so you need to beware - they do not have a 24 hour reception and reception closes at 6pm so leaving bags stored for the day may be a problem. We went to the races before flying out that evening so had to store our baggage at Southern Cross in lockers to get around the lack of reception. Reception was a block away in another building.

The accommodation was meant to have a compendium but didn't and we found no instructions on the place and minimal/poor signage and because reception was in a separate building a block away from our accommodation it was annoying we had to go back to reception to find out where they had hidden the pool because there was no indication in the lifts or room. Even when we knew what floor the pool was on, the signage did not show the location of the pool once you got outside and you had to hunt around (it is on floor 4 on the side of the building hidden from view by the gym area if you are staying in the Boyd building). The pool area is spartan to say the least - not a single chair or table to put your gear on just the pool and decking. Would a couple of chairs really break the budget!! We never did find the supposed garbage shute on our floor so had to leave an apologetic message for our cleaning staff about the garbage smell because we couldn't find where to get rid of it.

I think a few extra signs and instructions would really assist what is a nice new complex of apartments and they are obviously geared for longer stay residents rather than for the holiday market.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lap6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews