We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Docklands location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartments at Docklands
Ranked #42 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We recenty stayed here for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. We had never stayed in the Docklands area before. The apartment itself had good facilities and was nice and new and clean although the couch was a bit on the hard side. This place is a bit out of the ordinary from the normal apratment hotel style so you need to beware - they do not have a 24 hour reception and reception closes at 6pm so leaving bags stored for the day may be a problem. We went to the races before flying out that evening so had to store our baggage at Southern Cross in lockers to get around the lack of reception. Reception was a block away in another building.

The accommodation was meant to have a compendium but didn't and we found no instructions on the place and minimal/poor signage and because reception was in a separate building a block away from our accommodation it was annoying we had to go back to reception to find out where they had hidden the pool because there was no indication in the lifts or room. Even when we knew what floor the pool was on, the signage did not show the location of the pool once you got outside and you had to hunt around (it is on floor 4 on the side of the building hidden from view by the gym area if you are staying in the Boyd building). The pool area is spartan to say the least - not a single chair or table to put your gear on just the pool and decking. Would a couple of chairs really break the budget!! We never did find the supposed garbage shute on our floor so had to leave an apologetic message for our cleaning staff about the garbage smell because we couldn't find where to get rid of it.

I think a few extra signs and instructions would really assist what is a nice new complex of apartments and they are obviously geared for longer stay residents rather than for the holiday market.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lap6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 164 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Con's
Service (lack of). When the apartment was booked we requested a fan, of course it never turned up and we were not advised that the fan couldn't be supplied. Had we been told this we would have cancelled our booking straight away. Apartments are cleaned only once a week. Need anything? well you may get it if you call the office in business hours.
Price. I'm embarrassed to say we paid $357 per night. Melburnians laughed when we told them how much we paid.
Location. There isn't much in Docklands so eating out in town means taxis.
The apartment. Despite being relatively new the finish is poor and the apartment was in some disrepair, basin loose in the main bathroom, power point hanging off the wall, paint tatty.
The beds. Ahh now here's the thing. Whilst comfortable they were barely bigger than an average postage stamp.
The bedrooms. Very cramped, impossible to access one of the wardrobes because the bedside table was in the way.
The bathroom. World's worst shower, extractor fan didn't work and there is only one tiny towel rail which was badly positioned at the end of the bath. Towels were miniature as well.
Pro's
Decent view of the harbour
Good sized lounge
Would we stay there again, or recommend this place? NO WAY IN THE WORLD!!
To sum up. Overpriced and under spec. To rate this as four and a half star is an absolute joke.

Room Tip: Avoid this place if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank uncleericUpperBurnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in the Getaway 2 bed 2 bathroom apartment in the Palladio building for 10 nights. My husband was in melbourne on business so myself and our 2 sons (6 years old twins) stayed during the holidays with him. The apartment was spacious, very clean, plenty of cupboard space and great kitchen and facilities.There was a very comfortable 3 seater and 2 seater sofas and a dining table for 6. We had a sensational view looking over the harbour and Etihad stadium. The location of the apartments is fantastic. The tram stopped just over the road so we had really easy access into the city and all the major attractions. The restuarants and shops in the docklands are great too.
Our flight from sydney had been cancelled so I rang reception and said we would be arriving later and the manager was very helpful and said they would wait until we arrived. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and had answered any query we had within 10 minutes. The apartment was serviced twice with lovely new sheets and towels and all beds made up. The apartment was very quiet, we never heard any noise from traffic or other guests which was amazing considering we were down there over AFL grand final weekend and all apartments were booked. We would recommend these apartments to our family and friends and would definately stay again. Thank you for a fabulous 10 days holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a terrible experience when the office closed early even though we had rang to say we would be there just before close and we couldnt get our car park key.
Rang the after hours service several times and recieved no reponse.
Left two messages with recepetion the next day and a follow up email two weeks later and never even got a call back!
We were over for the footy and dinner with friends prior but thanks to this had to miss dinner and just got to the footy! Wasted an hour waiting for a call back.
We also had to get the cleaner back in to clean the urine off the floor and minimal crockery etc

Room Tip: Room was fine but service and client respoect is poor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great location as so close to the city and alot of very nice restaurants close by. Apartments are nicely presented and apartment security is good too. My only critisism was the ditsy pair on reception when we checked in, they both didn't know what on earth they were doing and what should have been a 5 minute check-in took about 20 mins. Thankfully we pre arranged check out as had paid up front so it was a matter of leaving the keys as per instructions. Anyway, lovely apartments, would definitely go back.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The apartment we had was just ok. It really didnt reflect the pictures on the booking website. It was quite dated. Beds were really uncomfortable. Showers were more like a fine mist than a shower and the bathrooms didn't have any ventalation which made them damp. The foxtel in the building was being upgraded on the weekend we were there so we had to let tradesmens into the apartment on several occassions one morning to fix and test it!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BigJoan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We checked in to Apartments @ Docklands in May for our 5 day trip to Melbourne. A short mini-bus trip from the airport brought us to the reception office, staffed by two friendly, helpful Victorians (one of whom was undergoing training) who checked us in without any hassles, upgraded us to a 2 bedroom apartment, then walked us down to our building, up the elevator, finally guiding us through our room which offered sensational views of the CBD and Docklands Harbour.

We each had our own ensuites (always a plus) and the furnishings were clean and comfortable - especially the bed. Some Foxtel channels available for the rainy days, plus a fully equipped kitchen.

Docklands itself seemed somewhat deserted, only showing feint signs of life around meal times, when the trendy, ethnic cafe's and designer restaurants started to pick up. We ate at several of these and were happy with the quality and value on each occasion. The location suited us perfectly, a very short tram ride from the CBD (on one of the FREE city circle trams), but just far enough away from all the action to relax after a hard day pounding the pavement.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Apartments @ Docklands and would recommend them to anyone heading to Melbourne. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the city side overlooking the harbour and Etihad Stadium - GREAT VIEW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica_and_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Docklands
#20 of 161 in Melbourne
743 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Docklands
Four Points By Sheraton Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Accommodation Corporate Docklands
Docklands
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Docklands
The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments at Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments at Docklands

Address: 23 Rakaia Way, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $117 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Apartments at Docklands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKOM Docklands (formerly Apartments At Docklands) is a 4 1/2 star fully furnished apartment business based in Melbourne Docklands. Offering wonderful water and/or city views from your private balcony, AKOM Docklands offer spacious apartments with modern furnishings and full kitchens. Our apartments cater for all types of accommodation starting with a 1-bedroom executive apartment through to our Deluxe 3-bedroom apartments. Our location is 5 minutes from the Melbourne CBD, 15-20 minutes from the airport. All amenities are at your door step, with a wide range of restaurants, a supermarket, chemist, bottle shop, as well as bargain shopping at Waterfront City (home of the Melbourne Star). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartments at Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments @ Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing