We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but nothing outstanding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Ranked #47 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, but nothing outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Pros:
- Great location (close to transport, short walk to city and Southbank)
- Friendly staff
- Quiet: we had an apartment at the back of the property and on one of the higher levels that meant although the views weren't great (a carpark mainly), it was away from the traffic/tram noise
- Reasonably clean - there were dirty hand prints on some of the walls, marks on the lounge/cushions and the furniture hadn't been moved to be cleaned underneath, but otherwise clean and tidy
- Gym, spa, sauna and pool were good facilities
- Kitchen was fully functional
- Very comfortable bed

Cons:
- the one-bedroom apartment was smaller than I anticipated
- view wasn't great

All in all, our apartment was adequate for our week stay but we were a little disappointed with the size. A more thorough cleaning would also be advantageous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher levels and at the back of the property (away from Flinders Street) for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieGal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear AussieGal555

Thank you for your review and I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed both our location and friendly team members. I am disappointed however to read about the cleanness of your room and have addressed this with our housekeeping department. I would also like to clarify to travellers that all our 1 bedroom apartments are a large 45 square meters.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    814
    206
    48
    27
See reviews for
302
690
104
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The apartments are nice and big. Equip with great deck's and kitchens for extended stays. The staff were friendly and the rooms fairly clean (Don't look behind the bed).

We stayed with a group, some in the group complained that their stuff had gone missing (Belt and aftershave). I had some sweets on my table which were lying there in the open. I found a lolly wrapper had tried to be flushed down the toilet by a cleaner who had obviously helped themselves.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms facing to the East. There are some west facing rooms that look into a backpacke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottW1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear ScottW1990

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Adina Melbourne Northbank.
I see that you did stayed at the hotel a year ago (April 2012) and would appreciate speaking with you directly regarding the claims made in this review as Adina takes this allegation very seriously.
I can be contacted on 61 3 9246 0000 or email smoore@adinahotels.com.au

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed at the Adina while on a recent business trip. A one bed apartment facing Flinders Street, close to the Convention Centre. The apartment was clean and well equipped. The front office staff were friendly and helpful. The only issue is street noise, being close to both train and tram lines - suggest a room that does not face Flinders Street.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face Flinders street due to tram and train proximity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrow050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Barrow050

Thank you for staying at Adina Melbourne Northbank on your recent business trip. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our team were friendly and helpful.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and are more than happy to allocate you a room away from the street.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the Adina (formerly Medina) twice. The first time I was on a lower floor, and could hear a bit of street noise, which is not unexpected given it's on a busy street, and was fixed by buying earplugs. The second time I was on the 8th floor, and there was much less street noise. The apartments are fantastic, with pretty much everything you want, including a full kitchen. The gym and pool are handy, and the hotel is pretty well located, especially if you like walking. I would definitely recommend the Adina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel' room was very clean and spaious.
Although I only saw the next apartment rooms form the balcony and there was no sunshine in my room.
I borrowed the shave cream. At that time the staff said no fee for it. However, when I checked out, I had to pay some money for it.
If you use this hotel just to sleep, I can reccomend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mino255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is in a good location, with tram stops close by, a short walk to the Docklands area and the Melbourne Aquarium. Staff are very nice and helpful but we were a little disappointed with the cleaning of the room. We had to speak to the reception staff on two occasions and whilst our feedback was taken on board the first time and the issue rectified, the second time it wasn't.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonG975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Great value apartments in a good location. Modern styled complex with a great cafe/resturaunt attached. Good alternative to Crown if you need to be close to Southbank.

Bargin at around $200 per night for a 1 bedroom apartment with kitchen and laundry etc

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Steven R

The hotel team are so pleased that you appreciated both the hotels location and amenities. We also believe that Adina Melbourne Northbank is great value and that Café Keyif offers fantastic food.
We hope that we can accommodate you and your family when next in Melbourne.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Flinders Street
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#51 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,858 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Address: 550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Northbank Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing