We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“one bedroom apartment fantastic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Ranked #48 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one bedroom apartment fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the Adina (formerly Medina) twice. The first time I was on a lower floor, and could hear a bit of street noise, which is not unexpected given it's on a busy street, and was fixed by buying earplugs. The second time I was on the 8th floor, and there was much less street noise. The apartments are fantastic, with pretty much everything you want, including a full kitchen. The gym and pool are handy, and the hotel is pretty well located, especially if you like walking. I would definitely recommend the Adina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    879
    217
    54
    32
See reviews for
318
748
112
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel' room was very clean and spaious.
Although I only saw the next apartment rooms form the balcony and there was no sunshine in my room.
I borrowed the shave cream. At that time the staff said no fee for it. However, when I checked out, I had to pay some money for it.
If you use this hotel just to sleep, I can reccomend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mino255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is in a good location, with tram stops close by, a short walk to the Docklands area and the Melbourne Aquarium. Staff are very nice and helpful but we were a little disappointed with the cleaning of the room. We had to speak to the reception staff on two occasions and whilst our feedback was taken on board the first time and the issue rectified, the second time it wasn't.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonG975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Great value apartments in a good location. Modern styled complex with a great cafe/resturaunt attached. Good alternative to Crown if you need to be close to Southbank.

Bargin at around $200 per night for a 1 bedroom apartment with kitchen and laundry etc

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Steven R

The hotel team are so pleased that you appreciated both the hotels location and amenities. We also believe that Adina Melbourne Northbank is great value and that Café Keyif offers fantastic food.
We hope that we can accommodate you and your family when next in Melbourne.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at this apartment a few years ago and am happy to say it still looks as new.
The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. They made checking in and out very quick and hassle free.
The rooms are a very comfortable size and allow privacy in even a studio apartment. I was very happy to see the stereo was ipod adaptable and there was a T.V in both the lounge and bedrooms.
The full kitchen and well sized bathroom, makes you feel very at home without having the cramped hotel atmosphere.
The apartment is very clean, well stocked and stylish. I would happily stay here again and recommend it to anyone travelling to Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kymberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Kymberley

The Adina Melbourne Northbank team are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel still presents as well as it did several years ago. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Confusion about which property led me to the wrong one at 88. Despite assurances from the lady at front-desk, it really isnt feasible to walk to 550 with luggage. She would have accepted me there but didnt since I did not book direct - well thats because its dearer on your website! Ah but they price match, just dont say so on their website - wonder why.

The property at 550 is clean and modern but is noisy - both internally from the party room door (yes it was locked), other floors, the stupidly loud lift buttons and garbage truck in the lane at 5:15am! And that was after insisting on a quiet room.

Problems with ironing board were eventually resolved after several tries only to find they use the cheap irons with 1.5M leads. How can Medina ever target the corporate market by saving $5 on a quality iron?!?

Pool was good and is heated but massive flood lights near blind you in the low-ceiling room. I guess they let the electrician choose them - it pays to manage your trades.

Noticed no complaint form on the Adina website so sharing here more broadly to help save you from a bad nights sleep! A real shame Adina isnt better managed.

Room Tip: Well I asked for a quiet room and that clearly didnt work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Although we were only staying overnight we found this to be in an ideal location. Within easy walking distance to Southbank Wharf and Casino. Excellent cafe very close for breakfast the next morning and straight onto the tram to spend the day sightseeing. We loved the cleanliness, convenience, space, two flat screen televisions and a balcony ..... oh and for me the bed was the best I have slept on in ages (presently recuperating from a back injury) it was huge and super comfy! Without question we will stay again and hopefully for longer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Lea

Thank you for your positive comments and it sounds like you had an excellent time. Glad to read that you found our beds super comfy. We have just installed brand new 32” LCD TV’s within all guest rooms which look fantastic

We look forward to your return

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Flinders Street
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#51 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Address: 550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Northbank Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing