We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay --- Allan & Nona 2014”
Review of Kensington B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kensington B&B
Ranked #3 of 24 Melbourne B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed for 6 days & found the accommodation to be very clean, comfortable & user friendly.
The owners Robena & Peter were super friendly & no stone was left unturned to make our stay comfortable. Great coffee shops within 2 minutes walk along with some restaurants & 3 bottle shops . Trains into Melbourne are around the corner & run every 20 minutes, plus only takes 10 minutes into Flinders St station.
Code system for door was simple & the supply of Myka cards for public transport was a great idea.
Will be going back

Room Tip: Think most rooms are good with couples bedding in second bedroom upstairs with shared bathroom &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thanks, we'll keep turning those stones ready for your next visit!
Cheers
Robena & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 58 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had 3 rooms over Christmas and it couldn't have worked out better for us, all 5 of us enjoyed our stay! Laid back and friendly. Good bakery, restaurants, coffee shop and bottle shop just around the corner. Easy walk to other shops in Racecourse Road as well. Only 2 stops to Melbourne Central and Victoria Markets on the train. And they had Myki cards that we could use as well. Peter and Robena made us feel just so comfortable and welcome we really did wish we were staying longer than a week. Just been reminded to mention the homemade jams too - excellent. We even got a sample of the honey and honeycomb from the bee hive in the back yard. Paul, Barb, Matthew, Alicia and Angus from Queensland

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_and_Barb_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

So pleased you enjoyed your family Christmas with us and your Kensington family.

I’ve been busy as it’s jam-making time again and supplies have been replenished, the Mulberries have been prolific this year!

Till next visit,
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

A 'laid back' friendly B & B with a family atmosphere, 2 train stops from the centre of Melbourne. The use of the B & B's train cards was an added bonus and once we had mastered the system we had no problems travelling. The door code system was also great as we could come & go as we pleased. This B&B is also Robena & Peter's 'Town House' so they tend to come and go as they also have a farm to attend to but whilst we were there either one or the other was there. Also we had the added bonus of an invitation to a private dinner party they were holding at which we met their lovely daughter who shared the cooking with Peter. A great evening was had by all! Peter & Robena's son also wandered in from time to time it seems for a meal and catch up on his washing!!! If you want a place to stay where you feel like a guest of the family this is it. Oh, by the way, Robena's homemade Marmalades & Jams on our breakfast toast were great. We are yet to try Peter's complementary bottle of Virgin Olive Oil but we are sure it will be good. Honey is the next on the list. don't be too long in robbing that hive, Peter. Sue & Rob WA

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Hello Sue & Rob. It was a pleasure to have you stay in our home & we enjoyed your Vespa stories. Peter & Benj have robbed the hive, so we now have Kensington honey and our bees have a second box to fill. We’ll have some for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our consultations with Tripadvisor are usually spot on, but not so this time. The Kensington B&B did not live up to the excellent ratings it was given. It is closer to average.

The good things about the B&B are as follows: it is reasonably priced, it is within easy walking distance to the train station (3-4 blocks), shops and restaurants are close by, it has a pleasing exterior and walkway to the front door, original hardwood and heritage features and the hosts are very friendly and easy to chat with. But the heritage features are somewhat rough around the edges. In the room we were given there were a couple of large cracks in the walls and the walls were rough and mostly bare. The little sofa in the room was uncomfortable and somewhat dirty on the arm rests. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean. The towels we were given were also clean but like using cardboard they were so stiff and rough. We had requested the room with a private bathroom. The bathroom was located between the lounge and the kitchen, so we had to walk through the lounge to use it. When people were in the kitchen or lounge you could hear them quite clearly and we suspect they could hear you in the bathroom. Also this bathroom locked from the inside while you were using it but you could not lock the door when you were away. So basically the bathroom was open to the rest of the house while you were away for the day. Not really very private at all.

The atmosphere of the house is communal. There were other guests as well as friends and relatives who were not paying guests of the house coming and going every evening we were there. The owners don't live in the house and seem to come and go with suitcases in hand, too. Everyone used the kitchen for breakfasts and evening meals. Each was responsible to clean up after themselves. It meant things were tidied but it seemed little real cleaning was being done. The toaster, stove top, sink and some areas of the counters were a touch grimy.

There are some positive features to this B&B but the lack of attention to detail and virtually no private bathroom make it an average stay at best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hello Cindy and Malcolm. We're sorry that you were disappointed during your recent visit. We have taken your feedback onboard.

Thank you for the positive comments about our heritage home. It's age and the local soil conditions mean that movement is still an issue 100 years after being built, so cracks are always opening up.

No one has raised the external bathroom lock before so we'll update out description to make it clear. The downstairs room is next to a private bathroom, so there's no lounge room to navigate, however unfortunately it was booked out during your stay.

We have a regular cleaning schedule and apologise that you found the kitchen not up to standard. We try to be green and our towels (and sheets) are a bit stiffer than hotels, because we dry them on the line, not in a dryer.

Peter and I spend our time between Kensington B&B and our farm in regional Victoria which is why you saw us coming and going.

We hope this clears up your concerns, and wish you had raised them when you were here so we could have made your stay more pleasant.

Enjoy Tasmania, the rest of your travels and some good Aussie dark beer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Wanting to make sure of accommodation for the Richard Wagner Festival 2013, we booked ten day's accommodation back in mid-2012. Kensington B&B exceeded our expectations, providing a friendly, sophisticated and comfortable stay close to the Melbourne CBD. Kensington is a really pleasant inner city suburb with a wealth of historical dwellings to delight the eye (and camera). A bonus was just how close it was to Flinders Street Station (seven minutes, if the train doesn't do the City Loop!). Nothing was too much trouble for mein hosts, Peter and Robina, who were there when needed but invisible when solitude was needed. The bedrooms were spotless and well-appointed with WiFi internet and the kitchen and bathrooms were already supplied so you didn't need to bring soap, shampoo, etc. On days "off", it was a great place to relax and read. The Abyssinian restaurant close by was a real bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thanks to your stay with us David & ABC Classic FM we’re now up on all things Wagnerian & Melbourne’s celebrations of ‘The Ring’, glad you enjoyed your time here.
Our family also enjoy dining at The Abyssinian, & given its popularity we now book a table in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We recently used the Kensington B&B for a 3 day stay in Melbourne in October 2013 . It was clean and comfortable. Robena and Peter were great hosts giving useful information when we needed it and welcoming us into their social gatherings in the evening if we felt like a chat whilst at the same time allowing us the freedom to come and go if we wished. The area was very handy to the city centre whilst at the same time very quiet. The breakfast was "help yourself" which meant we could get up when it suited us, there were healthy cereals and some yummy homemade preserves and jams and always a good cup of tea or coffee when we came in. We will be recommending Kensington B&B to our friends when they are looking for somewhere to stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdent99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we trust you also enjoyed your Great Ocean Road trip.

Cheers
Robena & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had a great stay here, the owners Peter and Robena are welcoming and open but respectful. Very clean, cosy and convenient. The exterior is a charming cottage, while the interior is large and roomy. Close to all local amenities and transport, Kensington has a great selection of cafes and restaurants.

I enjoyed some great meals and conversation, will be back again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank zoealia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

It was a delight to have you stay with us Zoe. We look forward to your return visits.
Robena & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,583 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#115 of 161 in Melbourne
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#21 of 161 in Melbourne
3,776 reviews
Coppersmith Hotel
#2 of 24 in Melbourne
78 reviews
Central Business District
Nomads Melbourne
Nomads Melbourne
#11 of 24 in Melbourne
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington B&B

Address: 97 McConnell St | Kensington, Melbourne, Victoria 3031, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range: $98 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington B&B is best described in the words of our guests...... ‘Thank you so much for allowing me to enjoy such a beautiful home. I have had a wonderful time and you think of everything. I would like to come back again’ Margie, Adelaide SA. ‘Thank you again for a wonderful stay in my little home away from home! See you next year. Cheers’ Karen, Perth WA. ‘What a fantastic place’ Sigrid, Germany. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing