We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was worried but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street
Ranked #116 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I booked this apartment before checking Tripadvisor (first time ever!) and was worried after I read some of the reviews posted here however I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It is a nuisance having to pick the keys up from another address in Carlton and that should probably be more prominently advised on their website but overall it was very good value for money and met all our requirements. Our apartment was on the 14th Fl, was very clean and well fitted out. We asked for 2 single beds and the pull out sofa and that's what we got. Bedding and sofa were very comfortable and kitchen was well fitted out although we didn't use it given we were so close to so many good restaurants, café's and pubs. Great location to get around from and would certainly book again but would ask for the same apartment when booking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussietourist01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 96 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I just got back to Hobart after a 3 night stay in room 1406. As soon as the lift opened on the 14th floor we realised what we were in for. The walls, floors and doors to all apartments were marked and dirty. Our apartment was dirty with stains on walls, coffee table and windows (even the print over the lounge had filthy finger prints on it). The apartment had a stale smell to it and we had to wash everything before using it. One towel per person over 3 nights is ridiculous as we had to keep using the dryer to freshen the one towel we had each. Very noisey and just depressing. Our aparment was nothing like the photos on their web site, the only good thing about Plum Apartments on Collins was the location, trust the poor reviews and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coops506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

More than met our needs, was tidy and warm and had all the amenities we needed including washer/dryer and dishwasher.
The best quality of these apartments though is the location. A few mins walk to Federation square, Flinders St rail station, Melbournes lanes, restaurants and Bourke St mall.
Really happy with our stay here and would highly recommend it to others as value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

the location of this apartment was ideal for our shopping/ concert trip. the room had a large living area with a kitchen, table, fold out lounge and tv. we had a great view of the city from the patio of our room. the bath room was very small and could do with a little maintenance however we really enjoyed the convenience of the washing machine and the supplied washing powder. because of the security of the building we would have appreciated another key so we weren't having to go up and down the elevator to let people in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica Carroll L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good location in town centre about only thing going for it, absolutely ridiculous to have to pick up the keys in Carlton extra $15 taxi fare to get back to Collins St with Baggage and adds to added cost of over priced apartment. The apartment was smelly (damp?) tired and dirty by usual standards and desperately needed redecoration. It does not represent the pictures on the website and is false advertising. Split level not suitable for aged people and to far to go back to Carlton to complain. Never again!

Room Tip: Look else where if they haven't got something better
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Excellent location in town centre but a real pain to have to pick up the keys somewhere else.
Nevertheless the apartment was ok. Everything needed was there but it was in desperate need of redecoration. It was as tired as I was after a long flight and journey (via Swanston St for the keys) from the airport. The free bus tour around the city was a bonus as was the tram loop.

Room Tip: None I can think of.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERTBARGOED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Apartment was really large, with a kitchen, dining table and sofa and lounge area. Bedroom was a good size, as was the bathroom. Really great to have a washing machine. Large patio doors and a balcony were nice for relaxing. Apartment was clean and tidy. Location was absolutely perfect, walking distance to just about everything. We got a taxi from airport and I waited while we collected the keys which didn't take long and so wasn't very inconvenient. Lots of kitchen utensils provided and so on one evening decided to make some pasta. Half an hour after turning the hob on full I could hold my hand flat on the hob and it was barely warm. Had to cook using several kettles of boiling water instead. If you are going to provide cooking facilities make sure they work!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarenceAyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#113 of 160 in Melbourne
1,751 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#94 of 160 in Melbourne
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
5,015 reviews
Central Business District
Apartments of Melbourne Collins Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street

Address: 325 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Collins Mark Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $98 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing