We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sleep and dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street
Ranked #98 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No sleep and dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I just got back to Hobart after a 3 night stay in room 1406. As soon as the lift opened on the 14th floor we realised what we were in for. The walls, floors and doors to all apartments were marked and dirty. Our apartment was dirty with stains on walls, coffee table and windows (even the print over the lounge had filthy finger prints on it). The apartment had a stale smell to it and we had to wash everything before using it. One towel per person over 3 nights is ridiculous as we had to keep using the dryer to freshen the one towel we had each. Very noisey and just depressing. Our aparment was nothing like the photos on their web site, the only good thing about Plum Apartments on Collins was the location, trust the poor reviews and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coops506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    26
    20
    17
See reviews for
13
25
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

More than met our needs, was tidy and warm and had all the amenities we needed including washer/dryer and dishwasher.
The best quality of these apartments though is the location. A few mins walk to Federation square, Flinders St rail station, Melbournes lanes, restaurants and Bourke St mall.
Really happy with our stay here and would highly recommend it to others as value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

the location of this apartment was ideal for our shopping/ concert trip. the room had a large living area with a kitchen, table, fold out lounge and tv. we had a great view of the city from the patio of our room. the bath room was very small and could do with a little maintenance however we really enjoyed the convenience of the washing machine and the supplied washing powder. because of the security of the building we would have appreciated another key so we weren't having to go up and down the elevator to let people in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica Carroll L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good location in town centre about only thing going for it, absolutely ridiculous to have to pick up the keys in Carlton extra $15 taxi fare to get back to Collins St with Baggage and adds to added cost of over priced apartment. The apartment was smelly (damp?) tired and dirty by usual standards and desperately needed redecoration. It does not represent the pictures on the website and is false advertising. Split level not suitable for aged people and to far to go back to Carlton to complain. Never again!

Room Tip: Look else where if they haven't got something better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Excellent location in town centre but a real pain to have to pick up the keys somewhere else.
Nevertheless the apartment was ok. Everything needed was there but it was in desperate need of redecoration. It was as tired as I was after a long flight and journey (via Swanston St for the keys) from the airport. The free bus tour around the city was a bonus as was the tram loop.

Room Tip: None I can think of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERTBARGOED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Apartment was really large, with a kitchen, dining table and sofa and lounge area. Bedroom was a good size, as was the bathroom. Really great to have a washing machine. Large patio doors and a balcony were nice for relaxing. Apartment was clean and tidy. Location was absolutely perfect, walking distance to just about everything. We got a taxi from airport and I waited while we collected the keys which didn't take long and so wasn't very inconvenient. Lots of kitchen utensils provided and so on one evening decided to make some pasta. Half an hour after turning the hob on full I could hold my hand flat on the hob and it was barely warm. Had to cook using several kettles of boiling water instead. If you are going to provide cooking facilities make sure they work!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarenceAyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

When the other reviews say that they will not let you pick the keys up early, they mean it.
We were half an hour early and they still made us wait.
The room was average, we were on the 14th floor with a beautiful view of Collins street however the walls had handprints on them (black handprints on cream walls?) the curtains were broken and had dead flies stuck in the roll of them.
The kitchen was clean, the bed was comfortable and the washing machine was broken. The shower was big enough however the floor felt unstable.

My main concern was the door. The lock was broken on our door.
After coming back to the hotel at about 11pm one night, I tried to unlock the door but the key would not turn over. After a panic attack my partner worked out that the pins in the lock were out of place (??) and to open the door you need to put the key in all the way, then pull it out halfway and THEN turn the key to open the door.
Made me feel very unsafe and scared.

After reading the other reviews about how the cleaners took items from peoples baggage, I did not want my room to be serviced so i'm not sure what the cleaning was like however running into the cleaners in the hallway, they seemed friendly enough.

The front counter women were rude and you could tell they were just there counting down the clock to home time. I did not feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller12391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#111 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#114 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,466 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#3 of 113 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street

Property: Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street
Address: 325 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Collins Mark Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing