We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appaling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Milano Serviced Apartments
Ranked #50 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed May 30, 2009

We booked this on the recommendation of another, as it was a stone's throw from our conference venue. After many confused and confusing phone calls FROM the hotel we were assured our rooms were fine for our stay, Imagine then our surprise on checking in that the second night of our trip we were to have three other people "in our party" join us!!!! They were attending the same conference, yes, we knew them, yes, but in our party? no. Apparently they'd overbooked and were just hoping someone would check out early so they'd have a spare room..... another group fared the same in their room also. We said we would rather find somewhere else to stay so were given the names of a few places to try, but on a Friday night with AFL, impossible. We decided to grin and bear it. Then we were told of the extra charge for the privelege of having five people in our room!!!!
The double beds were split into two to make four single beds... which made the bedrooms so small I believe they constitute an OHS issue, and the third night which again was for two people only, housekeeping hadn't been in to clean or remake the beds......
There was zero sympathy from reception, we were treated like we had inconvenienced them by being there, so never again will we bother them.
Oh and by the way, broadband internet in the room? Costs. Per MB....The public library is a block away with free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizmartau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanoTeam, Milano Team at Milano Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2009

Due to lack of availability elsewhere during your stay we assisted with extra bedding in rooms free of charge.

Also, as a matter of compensation we provided you with a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom apartment for a night.

We believe that the team at Milano worked really hard to try to compensate for all the troubles. We are a small team passionate about of what we do and we try our best to satisfy our customers expectations.

Regards,

Milano Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 318 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2009

We chose this hotel as they offered a 2 bdrm apt with 4 single beds & a couch which was the configuration that we were looking for. The rooms are not huge but were more than adequate for our needs, the units are tidy, the kitchen is well equipped, the towels were changed daily and the beds made (we were only there for 3 nights). There were little soaps in the bathroom and plenty of coffee, sugar, teabags and milk provided. The value was excellent as we got a great deal through lastminute.com.au at $180 per night. Location was perfect, we could easily walk to town or catch a tram if needed, yet we were far enough away not to get disturbed by the noise of town during the night. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Hendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanoTeam, Milano Team at Milano Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2009

We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you another time soon! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly next time that you would like to make a reservation as we will match the rate you found elsewhere or do even better!

Kindest Regards,

Milano Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Stayed here 3 nights in Feb 09. It is also called Milano Serviced Apartments. I had a 1 bedroom deluxe. Very modern, small apartment. Nice furnishings; serviced daily. kitchen had hotplates & microwave. Lounge room size OK. Bedroom is small - ie I could just fit my suitcase in the bedroom, but lots of hanging space & cupboards. Nice bathroom with a washer/dryer [no bath]. Tiny balcony - about 1m x 1m. The building has a lot of residential apartments - lots of students. It is a noisy end of town but is very close to Vic Markets & Carlton. One strange thing - the bed has a vinyl cover on the mattress - bit like a hospital bed. Overall for $145 per night I thought it was good value.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

This was easily the worst treatment I have ever experienced at a hotel. On arrival we were treated as if we where criminals. We where informed that if we (a group of 6) had extra people in our rooms we would be kicked out and that security would come up and check on us. This was completely uncalled for. A key was lost during the stay and we where forced to pay $150 to replace it. The pool was closed for the entire time that we where there. They where unhelpful, didn't clean our rooms during the three night stay and failed to provide bedding for the people staying on the sofa bed. I have stayed many places around the world this was by far the worst customer service I have ever received. I recommend not staying and telling your friends not to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tjboors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanoTeam, Milano Team at Milano Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2009

We would like to express our sincere apologies if you expecations were not met. We have a party policy in place. Thus, if you stayed with us under this circumstances we would have been strict, but never mean. We are lucky to be a small team passionate about providing great service to our guests. I would like to invite you to re-consider us for a future stay. Print this review, bring it with you and we will not offer you only an unbeatable price but we will also strive to exceed your expecations.

Best Regards,

Milano Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

Like everyone for weeks l looked for an apartment, trying to decide, then thinking l had picked the perfect apartment. when we checked in at reception we were given the key to the apartment, l was quite shocked at the size of it , it was so small l thought they had given us the wrong room , considering l did book (ONE BEDROOM DELUXE APARTMENT), so off l went back down to recepetion to let them know. l was told there was no mistake that was the deluxe one bedroom apartment, l asked if there was another room we could have, l was reluctantly told there was and it was right next door to the first room, so off l went again, this other room at least had a seperate bedroom so we took that one. Back down to reception to swap keys, no help was offered, or no service at all. Exhausted l finaly settled in my deluxe room, l had my daughter and her friend staying, thats the reason l picked milano because of the pool, cinema, tennis court. Later that day we were in reception when the manager asked me how many werestaying in the room, l told her there might only be my daughter and myself as my daughter's friend did'nt know if she was staying, l then asked how much per night would it be for her to stay , she said $30 per night, l told her when l booked it was $15 per night, she said that is if you are 12 or under, there was a man standing next to her which l had'nt noticed before, he bluntly said there's 3 staying and they both walked away...By this time l was upset and felt very embarrassed, l went to the reception and asked who the man was , she told me he was the manager and the woman l had spoke with was his wife and the manager aswell. The next day l asked about the cinema as it was complimentry and we were excited about using it , that is until we were told it would cost $20, i'd given up by then and would've left only the girls were going to see Australian idol, so l stayed.There is more but l think i've said enough , the highlight of our stay was having aldi next door.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Shylagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2007

After reading previous reviews were were wary particularly about the size of the apartments. We need not have worried.We had a great stay. We were 4 ladies staying in a 2 bedroom apartment. Whilst it was a little on the small side it was plenty big enough for us during our 4 night stay. It was in a great spot with trams just a few steps away. We could walk to the vic markets and there were at least 3 car rental places next door as well as an Aldi supermarket. We also walked to Lygon Street one night for dinner. The apartment had a good kitchen, a balcony and a very large comfy leather lounge. One bedroom had a kingsize bed and the other one had a queen. The lounge was also a double sofa bed. The bedrooms were smallish with not much room around the beds but they both had built in wardrobes with mirrors and drawers.One of the bedrooms had an extra TV also. The pool and spa were nice as was the tennis court although we didnt use them-too busy shopping. All in all we ahad a wonderful stay at the Clarion Milano on Swanston and would hesitiate in recommending it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

This property is recently refurbished and still has a couple of things left to do only minor. We stayed here because of the pool as my daughter loves to swim, the fact that it was recently refurbished also enticed us as I am fussy with rooms that are getting old. It isn't far from the market and was quite handy to Draculas and Lygon Street, it is a little walk into town but trams run down Swanston and Elizabeth all the time so you can always jump on one. The only real negative thing is that is an apartment complex and not a hotel, so you get no service in regards to having the room made up and no fancy soaps, shampoo conditioner etc you must bring your own. We wouldn't stay again, but if you aren't necessarily looking for service then it would be fine. We booked a two bed apartment through not one night for $232 per night. They are relatively small, but we didn't have too many issues with a family of four.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank travellerhobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#43 of 161 in Melbourne
3,618 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Apartments of Melbourne Collins Street
Central Business District
Fraser Place Melbourne
Fraser Place Melbourne
#10 of 155 in Melbourne
1,062 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments - Lonsdale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milano Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Serviced Apartments

Address: 8 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Clarion Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $94 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milano Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milano Serviced Apartments is a unique and affordable alternative to hotels in Melbourne CBD for both leisure and corporate guests. We offer both deluxe and executive one and two bedroom self contained apartments that are stylishly furnished with an urban contemporary design. All our rates include complimentary access to swimming pool, spa, sauna, tennis court, BBQ area, gym and cinema room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Milano Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing