We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay.. but staffs should be more courteous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Milano Serviced Apartments
Ranked #40 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay.. but staffs should be more courteous”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As everybody had reviewed, rooms were small by service apartment standards. We stayed at the 2 bedroom apartment and we had to change the way the living room was arranged in order to fit our luggage. The apartment does fit our 3 adults and 2 kids comfortably during our stay.

Location was great as it was near to QVM and also Aldi next door. The shopping area, Melbourne Museum and free tram was also a short walk (10-15 mins) walk away.

The heating however was not properly planned in our apartment. We had to rely on the aircond that serves duo function - heater and air conditioning, for heating so it became either very hot or very cold in the living room. The master bedroom was also very cold, probably due to the big glass window that was not efficient in keeping heat in and cold out.

I like the kitchen, well equipped, and also the washing machine.. We hang our clothes to dry as per recommendations of many.

Douglas, the staff at the reception during night shift was extremely helpful. He also helped us to ring for taxi several times and updated us on the availability of cabs, unlike other receptionists. He also helped to replace broken pan and repaired the telephone in our apartment.Thumbs up Douglas!

The rest of the staffs were pretty cold and unfriendly. One actually told us off for sitting at the edge of the fountain in the reception area.. I saw this happened a couple of times and if you do not allow people to sit at the edge (which is ridiculous by the way) you should have put a sign there! It was not a good experience to have people telling you that they cant sit somewhere when there was no signage regarding this.

Overall, quite a good 7 day stay experience. would recommend due to location and price, but not staff courtesy..

Room Tip: Higher floor seems to be better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharul_Mizan_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    130
    58
    22
    25
See reviews for
124
32
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed in 2 bedroom, one bathroom, apartment on 14th floor.

Furnishings looked the same as pictures on website. Dishwasher drawer and washing machine in kitchen. Shower over bath. Comfortable bedding with clean sheets. Plenty of towels & handwashers. Small tv in main bedroom. 2nd bedroom had no windows.

Lovely view south over city, including of RMIT buildings next door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allegrimis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed a couple nights on business and I would have preferred to be at a "typical" hotel. First off, the internet service sucks. It was very slow and did not work well with the VPN I needed to connect to which affected the amount of work I could do from my room. I also prefer a hotel for the convenience of a lobby with restaurant/bar and less the feeling of long term housing for short business trips. Having said that, the location is good being close to the market and the amenities are good as well. The kitchen provides the ability to cook on stove or in the microwave and also has a good size fridge. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit small and not all laid out well; I've stayed here a few times and this time the closet was hard to get to as the bed was very close to it.

Overall I'd say it's a decent place for longer business trips, but for shorter ones less convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dantal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I booked a two bedroom apartment for three nights in what was described by the hotel as a 'spacious 2 bedroom apartment'. I had read comments on Trip Advisor suggesting the apartments were very small but I was totally unprepared for what we found once we got inside the front door. To say I couldn't 'swing a cat' would be generous - the 'footprint' of living / kitchen area wasn't much bigger than a caravan. Of the two bedrooms, one had two single beds and some cupboard space but the venetian blinds were all bent of shape and our daughter was not able to keep the daylight out of the room. The other room had a king size bed that filled the entire room. There was a space of maybe 30 cms between the bed and the wall, no windows and no cupboards at all in the room. We ended up storing our luggage in the small living area. There was a two-way bathroom between the two bedrooms and a single front loading washer/tumble dryer that you will need a mechanical engineering degree to operate. The 'quick start' instructions the hotel provided were for another machine, presumably replaced by the newer machine in the apartment. The apartment itself was cold and uninviting - every wall was bare and a few pictures would not have gone astray. After my wife found the bedroom hadn't been cleaned properly she'd had enough and went down to reception to complain. Reception promised to send up a cleaner but one never arrived.

On the upside, the receptionist had been understanding and invited us to move to a larger room the next day. The second room was on the 22nd floor and is what I was expecting from the start - it was 'spacious', had two bathrooms, wonderful night time views of the city so we did finish off our long weekend on a high note. If you need carparking prepare to pay $21 a day - certainly adds up to make it an expensive stay. I'm not sure what Victorian Fire Safety Reg's state, but there were no fire evacuation drawings in either apartment so it pays to note your nearest fire exits. The location was great, a block or two from the Quenn Victoria Martkets and a 15 min walk to Flinders St Station. Plenty of restaurant's everywhere so finding a good reasonably priced meal is a given.

Room Tip: The room descriptions are pretty much the same when reading off the website. We were happy once we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youstillthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Well presented clean apartment. I requested above 10th floor based on other reviews for a view and was rewarded with a wonderful outlook over the city. Apartment exactly as described. Obliging service - held our bags as room not ready at 10am (to be expected). Comfortable beds, block out blinds, everything working. Nice lounge area and kitchen. Unless you expect 5 plus star luxury, you can't go past this. We were in Melbourne for the monet exhibition. Two women who did not fancy sharing a bed.

We will stay longer at this establishment next time in Melbourne. Indoor pool, tennis court and gym will be well utilised on a longer stay. Do not be put off by the number of long term residents - says that Milano is doing something right. Quiet. Close to CBD and well worth the money

Room Tip: below 8th floor has no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nosmartphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I booked with Milano Serviced Apartments a 2 bedroom apartment, and a one bedroom apartment for me and my family for my birthday. The night before we were due to arrive, we were called by management and told that they would need to move us into 3 separate 1 bedroom apartments, as a dishwasher had exploded and our room was unavailable. We were promised the rooms to be on the same floor, however, upon arrival, only 2 were. They gave us keys for the other floors (actual keys) which were a pain to carry around.

The rooms themselves were tiny, stained and just felt tired. There were marks all over the walls, the couch was tiny and stained (white leather, I mean really?). The dishwasher in one apartment did not work, and the microwave in another had a large, sharp strip of metal hanging off the front. We called down to reception to complain, housekeeping came in the next day and ripped of the metal strip, leaving it on our counter! Not a sorry from anyone.

Our third night there, it was raining and was quite windy, we had a HORRIBLE whistling sound throughout our apartment all night and day, it was quite unbearable. The heater was very loud as well, so our apartments were freezing at night.

The same night we noticed a large leak at the top seal of one of the windows, we came back to find it, after it had leaked a huge puddle onto the floor, and all over the power board connected to the TV. We called reception and the Hotel Owner came up. He told us there were no other rooms, none in the whole of Melbourne, and we would have to deal with it over night. He put a bucket under the leak, and moved the TV away. The leak made the worst drip drip drip all night. The Hotel owner was rude, smarmy and unhelpful. We were moved the next day, but not until 4pm.

The only good thing about this hotel is the pool and spa, which were both heated. I do not recommend anyone stay here. The staff do not care, the rooms are grubby and loud.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImogenA849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The location in Melbourne is fantastic close to everything or places of interest within a walking distance. Room was ready on arrival and we got king bed and x 2 singles as requested, but tv did not work. We called for assistance and it was fixed promptly. Fairly clean but small. The plumbing was extremely noisy we could hear other people having showers with the screaming of the plumbing. The kettle was unreliable, the toaster and oven set off the smoke detector every time we used them. The microwave didn't have the correct plate in it therefore didn't spin correctly and there was insufficient cutlery to actually cook in the room. Reasonable sized bathroom and washing machine available. We left Melbourne on a windy day and were lucky not to be staying in room that night as the wind was making lots of noise. Would I stay again - not sure did have a rather unusual smell in the room when we entered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#106 of 160 in Melbourne
418 reviews
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#71 of 160 in Melbourne
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
2,961 reviews
Central Business District
City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milano Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Serviced Apartments

Property: Milano Serviced Apartments
Address: 8 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Clarion Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Milano Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milano Serviced Apartments is a unique and affordable alternative to hotels in Melbourne CBD for both leisure and corporate guests. We offer both deluxe and executive one and two bedroom self contained apartments that are stylishly furnished with an urban contemporary design. All our rates include complimentary access to swimming pool, spa, sauna, tennis court, BBQ area, gym and cinema room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Milano Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing