We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent location, good value, recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #92 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“excellent location, good value, recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in a studio apartment. We booked online with lastminute.com, definately the recommended way to book, as when I rung the hotel the price was at least $20 more per night.
Reception was beautiful, the staff were friendly enough, and the location was fantastic. Only a short stroll to the shops on Collins Street, Flinders Street, and across the bridge to the Crown Entertainment Complex and restaurants on Southbank. Trams are a very short stroll away in all directions and there always seemed to be taxis out the front of the hotel, though be cautious of taxi drivers: they will practically refuse to drive you if its not far.
As for the rooms in the hotel, I was expecting much newer as would have been expected from the photographs of the rooms. It had been refurbished, but the bathroom had older fittings and the cupboards were obviously older. Furthermore, there was a large crack in the bathroom sink, which I think should have been fixed due to the fact that it could potentially be very unhygenic. The bed was a mock king, with 2 singles attached, which I never find impressive, and in this case the crack was very uncomfortable and obvious. The kitchenette was more like a complete kitchen within the studio apartment, with a stove and all necessary dinnerware, pots etc. The apartment was large compared to other studio apartments we'd stayed in. The view was also amazing, however a high apartment with a view was requested.
I would recommend this hotel due to its location, the space in the apartment, and the views.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naynay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    538
    210
    78
    40
See reviews for
205
343
80
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

A nice room, large and I loved having a bath rather than just a shower. As usual the fitness centre was poorly equipped but the pool was fabulous. Because it is in the business end of Collins st the area was "dead" by 6pm. So you have to walk a few blocks to find a restaurant,cafe or bar.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheilafromdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed here, I love the location in the Business district end of town as after 5 and on the weekend its so quiet. Loads of cafes for really cheap breakfast a 10 minute walk to The Crown or Bourke St Mall. Tram stop less than a 100m away in 2 direction either Flinders St or Collins St, taxi rank straight over the road and 2 street to Spencer St Station for Trains.
Rooms are generous size good bedding, bathroom very clean and functional good loung and kitchenette area. TV and stereo provided but no dvd player if you have a little one!! We chose the 1 bed room unit with a fold out couch for our 7 year old and for 8 nights it's fine any longer it may be an issue.

Our biggest issue is the no opening windows in most of the new hotels we stay in, The Oaks is no different, the lobby, stairwells, lifts and hallways are warm and lack "fresh air"
Air con was good and very adjustable for the room, Gym was well equipped and a good size pool area with steam room ( the pool area is hot being in the basement and in its own room but you get used to it - we swam nearly every day and only once was it a bit crowded.
Good parking under the hotel and seems to be enough bays for everyone.
We have never tried the restaurant here but everyone says it's fine, its just that within 10 minutes you can eat food from any country in the world with the amazing array of cafes and restaurants in all the lanes.
The only time we struggled for breakfast was Sunday morning as most of the cafes nearby cater for business hours (not weekends) bu there are two 711 shops within 100m that have coffee and bread etc, toaster in the room and you're away.

We love the location but would like architects to understand fresh air is not an extra it's a necessity - there are plenty of safety window systems that can fit hotels I just don't know why they don't install them!! other than that AAA+++ from us.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelm858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

I stayed there for 3 nights with a toddler and the grandparents. We booked a 2-bedroom and enjoyed our stay. It was very spacious for 5 of us (not as small as I thought it would be) and a great view of the river and the casino opposite. Most importantly, it was clean as I have a young child. The utensils in the kitchenette was also clean, and I could safely cook simple baby meals for my child. It almost felt like home and there was space for the restless toddler to run around :)
It was walkable distance to Collins (so grandma could do shopping), shopping Arcades and Federation Sq. There is also a convenience store just one block away round the corner. One thing though is that it is very quiet at night, but still safe. If you don't mind that (like me with a young child, and whose bedtime is 8.30pm), it's nice quiet and comfortable enough for you to not mind staying indoors with the family and just watch TV, chit-chat etc (isn't that what a family hol is about?) Overall, recommended and will stay there again when visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

Check-in was fast and accurate
Rooms are OK, although for an apartment hotel I'd have expected laundry facilities in the rooms (they have them, but in the basement)
My room was near the lifts- so a little noisy, but not too bad
Gym is small, but pretty good
Pool is around 20m, was OK, but quite crowded when I was there- more a fun pool, than a swimming one, and the water was quite murky
One odd thing- I wanted some room service at 1:30pm. I called down to room service, and no one answered. I called reception, and the guy said he'd send someone, and then put down the phone. I called back, and he told me that someone was on their way to change my towels. When I explained I wanted food, he laughed and said that the restaurant closed at 1:15, so I was out of luck.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithinperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

Arrived early afternoon and check in was fairly ordinary. Receptionist checked me in whilst dealing with someone on the telephone but it was all done fairly efficiently.

Room was comfortable with a nice beds, couch, table and large bathroom. Flat screen tv was adjacent to the bed but could be viewed from anywhere in the room. Small kitchen with fridge, sink, hotplate and cupboards was also located in the room. We were located on level 2 with no view other than building next door.

Used the pool on both days that we were there but the card swipe was not working on the second day so everyone had to go around through the back door. Gym was adequate and was able to watch tv whilst exercising. Don't both using the lift from the lower floor level unless you want to stand there for 10 minutes - walk up one flight of stairs - car park level and much better access.

Most staff were a little indifferent about service and did not go out of their way to assist. We wanted to find the ferry we could catch to go to Scienceworks but receptionist telling me that there was none. I assured here there was and asked her to check website and of course she found the details - however instead of trying to assist me with further information she just gave me the phone number. I then asked her for a map and that was just all too much effort....

Overall recommend the location - but skip breakfast at the hotel and walk around the corner into Collins St and try Morgans 201 - lovely staff and coffee and yummy fruit toast for $6.00 and all comes with a smile. I can do without grumpy people first thing in the morning so highly recommend the lovely staff at 201.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

We're stayed at Oaks on Market for a few times now (mostly during the Australian tennis Open) and each stay had been a positive experience. Reception staff can be a bit hit and miss though, but overall we would stay here again if the price is right.

If you're going to the tennis the location is perfect as it's just a short walk away from the free tram to Melbourne Park. It's also only a short walk across the river from Crown Casino. It's located on the 'business' side of the CBD (mostly office buildings around) so it's fairly quiet at night and also on weekends.

Can't fault the room itself, good size with the essentials.

Just a note though, for the few times we stayed there we've been placed on higher floors and the river view is pretty nice. The city view isn't too bad either (see photos) BUT on one occasion our friend was also staying in this hotel and he was placed on the lower floors (around 6th I think) and the difference is dramatic. His room view was of the building next floor (quite close too) so there wasn't much natural light.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katmky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#129 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#76 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing