We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and clean for the family”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #90 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I stayed there for 3 nights with a toddler and the grandparents. We booked a 2-bedroom and enjoyed our stay. It was very spacious for 5 of us (not as small as I thought it would be) and a great view of the river and the casino opposite. Most importantly, it was clean as I have a young child. The utensils in the kitchenette was also clean, and I could safely cook simple baby meals for my child. It almost felt like home and there was space for the restless toddler to run around :)
It was walkable distance to Collins (so grandma could do shopping), shopping Arcades and Federation Sq. There is also a convenience store just one block away round the corner. One thing though is that it is very quiet at night, but still safe. If you don't mind that (like me with a young child, and whose bedtime is 8.30pm), it's nice quiet and comfortable enough for you to not mind staying indoors with the family and just watch TV, chit-chat etc (isn't that what a family hol is about?) Overall, recommended and will stay there again when visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoungMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2011

Check-in was fast and accurate
Rooms are OK, although for an apartment hotel I'd have expected laundry facilities in the rooms (they have them, but in the basement)
My room was near the lifts- so a little noisy, but not too bad
Gym is small, but pretty good
Pool is around 20m, was OK, but quite crowded when I was there- more a fun pool, than a swimming one, and the water was quite murky
One odd thing- I wanted some room service at 1:30pm. I called down to room service, and no one answered. I called reception, and the guy said he'd send someone, and then put down the phone. I called back, and he told me that someone was on their way to change my towels. When I explained I wanted food, he laughed and said that the restaurant closed at 1:15, so I was out of luck.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithinperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Arrived early afternoon and check in was fairly ordinary. Receptionist checked me in whilst dealing with someone on the telephone but it was all done fairly efficiently.

Room was comfortable with a nice beds, couch, table and large bathroom. Flat screen tv was adjacent to the bed but could be viewed from anywhere in the room. Small kitchen with fridge, sink, hotplate and cupboards was also located in the room. We were located on level 2 with no view other than building next door.

Used the pool on both days that we were there but the card swipe was not working on the second day so everyone had to go around through the back door. Gym was adequate and was able to watch tv whilst exercising. Don't both using the lift from the lower floor level unless you want to stand there for 10 minutes - walk up one flight of stairs - car park level and much better access.

Most staff were a little indifferent about service and did not go out of their way to assist. We wanted to find the ferry we could catch to go to Scienceworks but receptionist telling me that there was none. I assured here there was and asked her to check website and of course she found the details - however instead of trying to assist me with further information she just gave me the phone number. I then asked her for a map and that was just all too much effort....

Overall recommend the location - but skip breakfast at the hotel and walk around the corner into Collins St and try Morgans 201 - lovely staff and coffee and yummy fruit toast for $6.00 and all comes with a smile. I can do without grumpy people first thing in the morning so highly recommend the lovely staff at 201.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

We're stayed at Oaks on Market for a few times now (mostly during the Australian tennis Open) and each stay had been a positive experience. Reception staff can be a bit hit and miss though, but overall we would stay here again if the price is right.

If you're going to the tennis the location is perfect as it's just a short walk away from the free tram to Melbourne Park. It's also only a short walk across the river from Crown Casino. It's located on the 'business' side of the CBD (mostly office buildings around) so it's fairly quiet at night and also on weekends.

Can't fault the room itself, good size with the essentials.

Just a note though, for the few times we stayed there we've been placed on higher floors and the river view is pretty nice. The city view isn't too bad either (see photos) BUT on one occasion our friend was also staying in this hotel and he was placed on the lower floors (around 6th I think) and the difference is dramatic. His room view was of the building next floor (quite close too) so there wasn't much natural light.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katmky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Stayed 2 nights in a 2 bdrm unit with my husband and friend. The bedrooms had no windows so the doors were frosted glass which left us little privacy. Everything was clean and comfortable otherwise. Our room was not made up after the first night which as it was a hotel we expected but maybe because it was also an apartment we were not meant to get service. They did however bring us clean towels. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenCardWedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel three times. First 2 times were OK but .Hotel is now getting run down and dirty....couches were filthy and service was less than you would expect. Am heading to Melbourne again next month and will be staying at alternative hotel. I am a regular traveller and would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank LeumasG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

The Oaks on Market stinks - literally! The entry area smells, some of the lifts really stink and the rooms are not that flash either.

Oaks has tried to "tart up" this old building and has failed miserably. They have certainly spent some money on the place but their interior designer should be shot.

Oaks on Market is "cheap and cheerful" ... correction, cheap. At $200 per night it is modestly priced but I will be looking elsewhere on my next trip to MEL.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#125 of 162 in Melbourne
1,270 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#49 of 162 in Melbourne
1,462 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#34 of 162 in Melbourne
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#48 of 162 in Melbourne
505 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 162 in Melbourne
5,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#80 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $114 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing