We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place smells!”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #87 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed November 23, 2010

The Oaks on Market stinks - literally! The entry area smells, some of the lifts really stink and the rooms are not that flash either.

Oaks has tried to "tart up" this old building and has failed miserably. They have certainly spent some money on the place but their interior designer should be shot.

Oaks on Market is "cheap and cheerful" ... correction, cheap. At $200 per night it is modestly priced but I will be looking elsewhere on my next trip to MEL.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,160 - 1,166 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2010

With only 1 night in Melbourne to go to the theatre, we purposefully made a booking at the Oaks on Lonsdale - impressed at the many good reviews on trip advisor and the proximity to the theatre. On arriving in Melbourne was contacted by the Oaks on Lonsdale advising that there was a maintenance issue in the apartment we had booked and our booking had been transferred to the Oaks on Market. I expressed my disatisfaction with this - we could no longer walk to dinner and theatre. I was not offered any alternative - better located accommodation. I was however told that the Oaks would pay for our taxi that we would now require. On arriving at the Oaks on Market, we were made to feel like an inconvenience - they couldn't find our booking in the system (despite me being assured that it had been taken care of by the Oaks on Lonsdale). Eventually we were checked in, but told a taxi fare that evening could only be paid via reimbursement - it all seemed too hard for the reception staff at the Oaks on Market.. We were then placed in an apartment (no upgrade) right next to the elevators which was noisy and irritating. I have never had a problem with Oaks hotels in various cities in the past, but this has really put me off considering staying at the Oaks again, I was so disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiredTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed on the 11th floor (1102) for six weeks while relocating to Melb from overseas. It was OK but had some quirks. It was quite dirty for a four-star hotel: lots of accumulated dust on skirts and in bathroom corners etc, mysterious stains on the fabric headboard.

The room service was a bit sketchy, the dishes were often not cleaned properly and they seemed to have a phobia of changing the tea towel. Towards the end of our stay we noticed that the towels started to smell quite strongly of bleach or similar, maybe they had changed laundry services?

It was a real shame the self-contained units did not have washing machines. There was a laundry downstairs but these were expensive and quite mouldy from having the doors permenantly shut (in my experience it is best to leave front-loading washing machines with the doors open to prevent mustiness). It became tiresome making the trip downstairs to the laundry after a few weeks, a washing machine in the room would have been fantastic, there was loads of space to install one in the bathroom if you wanted to.

Internet/wireless costs were exorbitant, needless to say we bought pre-paid wireless internet instead.

My partner used the gym and while he thought the facilities were OK, the roof was so low that he couldn't lift any weights above his head. Also he had some safety concerns with children playing on the gym equipment a couple of times.

On the plus side it was great that you could adjust the air conditioning from the room. Also the view from our room across the Swan River to Southbank was fantastic. The kitchen facilities were pretty good for simple self-contained cooking. We could cook most things with what was there (except baking, there was no oven)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulietAlphaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

A lovely 3 night weekend stay in the hotel. The room was lovely and well looked after. The bathroom and kitchen were suitable for our needs and rooms were clean. The staff were very helpful with regards to our quieries and the entertainment which was on was excellent.

When you arrive you have to provide credit card details tp put $150 on hold, or so we were led to believe. When we returned $150 was taken from the account and when rang to find out the problem, they said it would take 5 working days to return the funds. This was not highlighted at the start of our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom_clutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Was traveling around the country to most major cities at the time and this was one of the most comfortable hotels I stayed in.

It was in a great location close to transport, the casino and the business district. The rooms were a great size and extremely comfortable.

The staff were incredibly friendly and were more than happy to help out with anything.

The gym and pool were very nice. Happy to work on in both of them.

Stronly recommend anyone traveling for business or leisure stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crawley86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Went there to celebrate my boyfriend and Mine one year anniversary. The rooms was very nice and romantic. All rooms were apart to to make privacy. very Close to crown and a pleasant walk to and from even on a Saturday night. Was very happy with the price overall made a great night.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emtobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We had a very pleasant 1 night stay at this hotel. The studio room was well equip, clean and modern. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't use any of the other facilities such as pool, restaurant or bar, but they certainly looked inviting. The location is right in the middle of the city - everything in walking distance. I think this is a really good value, well appointed hotel and I would stay again. Perfect for weekend stay or business, singles and couples.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journey_GirlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
1,344 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#48 of 161 in Melbourne
1,533 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#46 of 161 in Melbourne
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $106 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing