We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel experience fell short of expectation although it was a series of small things that added up.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #92 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The hotel experience fell short of expectation although it was a series of small things that added up.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Location is perfect for a meeting at the convention centre. It keeps you in the heart of the city but on a street that is quiet. Our studio room was above average in size and the kitchenette was as advertised - well stocked with utensils and stove top, toaster etc. Curiously though, not even a small dining table. Where things fell down rather badly was in the room amenities and in particular the lighting. Until our final day we had to make due with a two feeble ceiling fixtures and absolutely no table lamps for bed or desk. On the final day, they finally brought in two table lamps that seemed to have come from the dumpster. We had to ask for a stopper for the bath and on one of our 4 day stay, the room was not made up despite assurances from the desk that it had. Well we can tell when a bed has not been made or other things put in order. The desk staff were friendly and I suspect at the mercy of too few support staff in maintenance that undermines their best efforts. Finally the internet is not up to standard. Extremely expensive and slow (even before the speed is downgraded after a very small download limit).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khumphri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    538
    210
    78
    40
See reviews for
205
343
80
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend getaway, paid $175 a night for a studio room on the top floor, beautiful views over the river to Crown Casino.
The location is great, close to South Wharf DFO, Spencer Steet shopping centre, the Crown Complex, restaurants - a short tram ride to the Bourke Street Mall and other shopping.
The room was beautiful, spacious, lovely bathroom. Only slight issue was the noisyish air conditioning that we couldn't work out how to turn off.
Staff were helpful and friendly.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tassiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
120 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed for a one night business trip. Location is reasonably convenient to the exhibition centre and Southbank. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was fine. Internet was expensive and poor value. Overall this is a safe option but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

This place was pretty straightforward. Nice location, friendly staff, clean, large rooms, and affordable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnut4912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed here for 4 days while having a short break from life. We loved the location, about a 10 minute walk from Southern Cross Station and just outside the busy traffic area of the city centre. We walked into the city most days , about 15 minutes to the centre of Melbourne...however, trams leave just around the corner. There is also a free city tram that does a circuit of the city outer area...beware, it takes forever to get from one end to the other, about 45 minutes. Across from the hotel was a laneway with The Mitre Pub/Retaurant (very charming and good food) also 7/11 supermarket around the corner and one across the road, National Bank also close by.
We liked the luggage storage facilities, you received tickets for each piece of luggage and hotel staff were on the ball to check that you picked up the correct luggage when collecting.
We loved the room, we stayed in 1908 and had great views. This room was a studio, spacious enough for 2 people and looked the same as picture on website. Air conditioning was best left alone, the room is automatically warmed and once we started to fiddle with the dials we started a ranging cool breeze that couldn't be altered so stay away from the dials. The room was stuffy at night as no fresh air but thats normal for hotels on the 19th floor.
Our only complaint about the room was the lack of information. Most hotels offer a book with local information, instructions on how to operate the phone, make calls, call reception etc etc our room had nothing, not even a map of melb or any touristy leaflets etc...we had to obtain that from reception and even then no maps were to be found on display you had to request one from the staff.
We found the staff to be very pleasant, especially Blake, he was funny and seemed happy in his job. There was one staff member called Megan, she was our first contact on arrival, lets say she could of been a little less frosty...seemed she was having a bad day and being nice wasn't on her agenda. House keeping staff were so super nice, couldn't do enough for us when we asked for a change of towels.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel. We liked it and found it value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Great location - nice views - very close to transport - clean room - amazing pool and spa which was heated - our studio had a bath with amenities - average beds and pillows - good size rooms, perfect for two people - it also had a kitchen, table and lounge chairs - would stay here again =)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

I booked this room online thinking I had made a good choice. When I arrived, I was advised that I had to pay for both nights upfront as well as put down a $150 deposit. Now I know its normal procedure for hotels to take an imprint of your credit card, but Oaks take this one step further and actually freeze the money.

What really annoyed me about the $150 deposit is that when I was checking out, they told me it would take up to FIVE DAYS for the $150 to become available to me again!!!!!! This is just totally unacceptable.

So before I had even seen the room, I was $400 down! The girl at the desk wasn't exactly pleasant about it, but because it was a corporate booking, she just took the $150 deposit (which is apparently for mini bar - not that there was a mini-bar in my room!).

The room was okay, nothing special - the shower was terrible. It took about 10 minutes just to get the temperture right, then half way through washing, it would suddenly scald you or freezing water would spray out.

Internet downstairs is not complimentary like many hotels, in fact its very expensive at $10.

All in all, a very average stay and I'm still waiting for my $150 back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_fuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#129 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#75 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing