We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good All Round Place with a few improvements needed!”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #89 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed here for 4 days while having a short break from life. We loved the location, about a 10 minute walk from Southern Cross Station and just outside the busy traffic area of the city centre. We walked into the city most days , about 15 minutes to the centre of Melbourne...however, trams leave just around the corner. There is also a free city tram that does a circuit of the city outer area...beware, it takes forever to get from one end to the other, about 45 minutes. Across from the hotel was a laneway with The Mitre Pub/Retaurant (very charming and good food) also 7/11 supermarket around the corner and one across the road, National Bank also close by.
We liked the luggage storage facilities, you received tickets for each piece of luggage and hotel staff were on the ball to check that you picked up the correct luggage when collecting.
We loved the room, we stayed in 1908 and had great views. This room was a studio, spacious enough for 2 people and looked the same as picture on website. Air conditioning was best left alone, the room is automatically warmed and once we started to fiddle with the dials we started a ranging cool breeze that couldn't be altered so stay away from the dials. The room was stuffy at night as no fresh air but thats normal for hotels on the 19th floor.
Our only complaint about the room was the lack of information. Most hotels offer a book with local information, instructions on how to operate the phone, make calls, call reception etc etc our room had nothing, not even a map of melb or any touristy leaflets etc...we had to obtain that from reception and even then no maps were to be found on display you had to request one from the staff.
We found the staff to be very pleasant, especially Blake, he was funny and seemed happy in his job. There was one staff member called Megan, she was our first contact on arrival, lets say she could of been a little less frosty...seemed she was having a bad day and being nice wasn't on her agenda. House keeping staff were so super nice, couldn't do enough for us when we asked for a change of towels.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel. We liked it and found it value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,105 - 1,111 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

Great location - nice views - very close to transport - clean room - amazing pool and spa which was heated - our studio had a bath with amenities - average beds and pillows - good size rooms, perfect for two people - it also had a kitchen, table and lounge chairs - would stay here again =)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I booked this room online thinking I had made a good choice. When I arrived, I was advised that I had to pay for both nights upfront as well as put down a $150 deposit. Now I know its normal procedure for hotels to take an imprint of your credit card, but Oaks take this one step further and actually freeze the money.

What really annoyed me about the $150 deposit is that when I was checking out, they told me it would take up to FIVE DAYS for the $150 to become available to me again!!!!!! This is just totally unacceptable.

So before I had even seen the room, I was $400 down! The girl at the desk wasn't exactly pleasant about it, but because it was a corporate booking, she just took the $150 deposit (which is apparently for mini bar - not that there was a mini-bar in my room!).

The room was okay, nothing special - the shower was terrible. It took about 10 minutes just to get the temperture right, then half way through washing, it would suddenly scald you or freezing water would spray out.

Internet downstairs is not complimentary like many hotels, in fact its very expensive at $10.

All in all, a very average stay and I'm still waiting for my $150 back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrs_fuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We have stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, 2 times now. We love the central location close to Ethiad and not to far to walk to the MCG, close to tram stops, not far to the yarra. Close to various shopping areas. The living area is spacious, the bathroom is on the tiny size but adequate. Other than the flashing light from the smoke alarm in each room which took a night to get use to, all is good for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KermitAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

I was in studio in this this hotel from 17 to 22 April 2010. Great location, excellent services and good stuff. Good choice! I'll stay here next time in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akulich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

we booked a 1 bedroom apartment for 2 nights. when we arrived, we were given the keys but when we opened the door, we discovered that we have been given a studio apartment instead. it was on the 15th floor, had great views and looked nice, bright and spacious. but as we booked the more expensive 1 bedroom apartment, we went back to reception. the very unfriendly girl there gave us a new room, on the second floor behind 3 (THREE) lifts. the room was very dark and there was no separate bedroom, it was only divided by the kitchen wall. it was VERY noisy with lifts going up and down every few seconds and we could not sleep. so we went back to reception and another, friendlier girl allowed us to move into another 1 bedroom apartment. this one was on the third floor, with no views either, but at least it was not behind the lifts. the bedroom did not have any windows and was very small and the aircon was VERY noisy. so don't pay for a 1 bedroom apartment, book a studio apartment and ask for one on a higher level. the one thing we liked about this hotel was the location, it's centrally located, close to a lot of things.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcus1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

I recently stayed at the Oaks on Market with my husband and parents in law. The hotel is quite close to restaurants, shops and the casino and is in a fantastic location. Our 2 bedroom apartment overlooked the casino with the flames so we liked that.

We used the restaurant and bar which was good value and took advantage of the pool. spa & sauna but be aware the hotel charges you $2 to hire ratty towels so just use the ones from your room.

We found the reception staff to be very friendly and had great knowledge of local things to do. A special mention should go to Rahul, Lisa, Jarred and Amanda who were extremely helpful.

One downside to the rooms was the aircon which didn't seem to be blowing out any air and the tv which we always needed help using.

We did have one complaint to make and that was in the bar R2. While we all understand that it was a busy Friday night what we didn't like was having to wait when Rakesh, who we later found out to be the Bar Supervisor, was too busy making himself alcoholic drinks and trying to drink them as fast as possible. My husband owns a bar and found this totally inappropriate that a staff member could be allowed to drink whilst on shift. By the time we left later on in the night he was drunk. Not somebody I'd like to get on the wrong side of.

Apart from this above issue everything else was fantastic and would recommend it to others.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
Thank jayemac80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#125 of 162 in Melbourne
1,274 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#49 of 162 in Melbourne
1,463 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#34 of 162 in Melbourne
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#48 of 162 in Melbourne
507 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 162 in Melbourne
5,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $114 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing