We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, pleasant staff, no hassles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #91 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, pleasant staff, no hassles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

My husband & I stayed here for two nights on our way to vist family and one night on the way back. We booked on rates to go and got cheaper rates for the rooms, it was Easter & all the staff was extremely busy but we were still looked after well the staff were helpful & friendly, the room was massive & clean. I would definately go back. Thanks to the staff for a job well done at a busy time of the year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    527
    204
    76
    36
See reviews for
197
334
79
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

This hotel surpassed our expectations. From the moment we arrived, the front desk staff was quick to process our paperwork and send us to our room, which had a great view of the southbank area and Eureka Tower. The staff was always friendly and eager to assist with any of our requests. The location is great for everything inside the CBD with easy access to public transportation. It is also a short walk to the Casino/Southbank area. We stayed in a studio apartment. Kitchen accessories were of good quality and the bedding was comfortable. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wbncgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

Stayed here on the Easter Long Weekend in a studio apartment. Our room was spacious and clean. The Hotel is in an excellent location - there is a Tram stop about 50 metres away on Collins St and there are a couple of restaurants and convience stores nearby. Or if you want to stay in there are basic cooking facilities in the room.

The staff are friendly and helpful and we were able to check in earlier which was great. There are also luggage minding facilities. There are two restaurants on site - one in the hotel and one outside. We dined at the one outside which was fairly quiet but still good food.

The only negative I could put on our stay was that we were not made aware of the tramwork that was taking place outside on Market Street - as in the entire road was dug up and the tram line relayed. It was a terrible noise and seemed to go through the night as well. I would assume this took place as it was the Easter Weekend but maybe something to check on when booking.

I would still definatley recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diva_sparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coogee, NSW
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

Using a travelzoo 2 night deal we thought we would give it a go and it was great! It is between Flinders and Collins st, closer to Collins and our view looked across to Southbank and the sea in the distance! It is set up like a studio room, with a kitchenette along one wall. The bathroom is great, full bath, and the bed was SO comfy, prob because the Oaks seems pretty new, maybe a couple of years old? There is a bar and restaurant on site but we didn't use them as we were out and about. For the money we saved we had drinks at Leftbank, great new bar, and dinner at The Grill at Grossi's, what more could you want? We would stay here again if they keep good deals on.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stayed in a studio apartment, at a very busy time of the year for Melbourne. It was a good size, clean, well maintained and all extras provided. Staff were polite and helpful. It's less than 100 metres to a tram stop, there are lots of good cafes nearby, and it's a 10 minute walk to Bank Place restaurants and a bit further to Southbank entertainment area. It couldn't have been more convenient.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helsaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
176 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

This hotel is in a good location - just a few minutes walk from Southbank and all the local attractions. I had a good room on the 14th floor - nice furniture, GREAT bed and bedding, excellent view of the Yarra and all the lights at night time. My only criticism would be the dodgy shower head and water temperature. Try as I might over my four days, I couldn't easily get the right temperature for my shower. It was either skin searingly hot or freezing cold and the water saving shower head wasn't much chop for washing thick hair. Otherwise, the very best thing about the hotel was the helpful and friendly staff. Everyone I had any dealings with was unfailingly polite, smiling, happy and helpful. This fixes almost any other problem and I really enjoyed my stay because of this.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

The Oaks was booked for me as I was working for 2 weeks in Melbourne. It is located in the CBD (Central Business District) but not too close to the busy parts - just 5 minutes walk to big shopping street (Collins), South Bank (river and restaurants) or the Tram and Train stations. First apartment was massive, but that was because it was build around the 3 lift shafts, and as a very light sleeper, the lifts though not actually very loud kept we awake !
The staff managed to find me a very quiet room which was superb and overlooked the Yarra River. The apartment was very well appointed, with a sofa, dining table and chairs and small kitchen area with large Fridge Freezer, 4 halogen rings, microwave oven and all the right utensils. As I needed to work in the evenings I was able to prepare and cook my own meals, after fetching provisions from a reasonably large Coles supermarket on Elizabeth street. Room service was excellent, replacing tea towels, scourer and washing liquid every day.
The Hotel Gym was reasonable with Treadmill, Cross Trainer, Cycle and Concept II rowing machine ! Also good selection of free weights and leg press machine. Pool was about 12metres, but was a bit strong on chemicals and dark, so tumble turns were a bit tricky, but overall one of the better hotel pools I've encountered. There's also a launderette in the basement for long stays .
Internet access is quite expensive at $27.50 a day, but there is a $2 an hour option if you just want to check emails once a day.
Good thing about the serviced apartment is the you can treat it just like a good hotel room or like a home apartment if you need.
Only had breakfast in the restaurant on the first morning, which was a standard buffer affair, with good selection of hot or continental options.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sp0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#79 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing