We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away rude staff”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #89 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 8, 2009

the staff were rude they take money off your credit card and dont refund for four days
get rid of all the staff and start again disgusting service i will never go to any oaks property again management need to send mystery soppers in to see how their staff talk to clients

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pregers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,193 - 1,199 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2009

After staying at Stamford Plaza many times before and fed up with the lowering standards, we took a punt and stayed at Oaks on Market for 2 nights Thursday & Friday. Found good deal on Oaks website but due to website problems (acknowledged by Oaks) my credit card was slugged twice. However Oaks were very prompt to make amends. Deal included beakfast which was prretty decent. Suggest paying extra for a proper cup of coffee though. Room was spacious, bed was very comfortable and flat screen telly made the stay enjoyable. We were a bit cheeky though because the tv was quite low we stuck the coffee table between the tv and the cabinet. The elevated tv was noticably easier to watch. The pool wasn't much to rave about though, high chlorine smell and the enclosed pool room was hot & stuffy. Overall good value and will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Second time here and still fantastic. Lucky to find this place last time in Melbourne. Studio apartment, kitchenette, well set up, clean, convenient, central, and all that you need. Found the room quiet and on the 11th floor good views. Will definitely stay here again. Parking in the city is expensive and a bit of a pain. Not the hotels fault and they do have an arangement for discount parking. Public transport is 50 metres away.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanetteBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Located in Market st the Oaks sits just off Collins, a quick few blocks from Bourke St, and a short stroll to SouthBank.

I pre-booked thru the net. Check-in was swift and simple (perhaps lacking a little warmth but hey, it isn't the Plaza). The room and location made up for that.

My studio room was on 18th floor with fab views out across SouthBank area and beyond. Super clean and spacious, with a couch/living area, which is great for resting feet between shopping trips. By the look of things, the room and facilities have been updated within last 6-12mths, including the nice flat screen TV in room. Not sure why hotels continue to install fabric covered headboards though, noted a few stains there already.
I found the room to be quiet and felt secure.

Other facilities: The choice of in-house movies on demand was up to date with what was showing at cinema. I made use of the indoor basement pool too, which was clean.
Used room service twice during my stay, the menu was standard fare but good quality, tasty and fast.

I'll definitely use the Oaks chain again if the rates stay reasonable.

NB: Met a fellow traveller at the conference I was attending who stayed at Oaks on Collins. sounded just as good in terms of facilities. will try there is Market is ever booked out when Im next in town.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2007jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

This was our first visit to Melbourne, and staying at the Oaks on Market made the whole trip very enjoyable..

Upon check-in, the staff was friendly and helpful. We left our luggage with the front desk as our studio room was not ready. We went out and explored the city for the afternoon and found the location of this hotel to be superb. It is easily accessible to tram stops, buses, major streets, shopping malls, Southbank etc., everything feel really close by.

But when we got to our room, we were pleasantly surprised at the cleaniness and the facilities available. The studio room had a spacious bathroom, a kitchen (no dishwasher or conventional oven), a sofa, LCD TV, well-sized wardrobe. There wasn't much of a view, but we were not fuss about this. There wasn't a washing machine but there is common laundry downstairs.

The Pool, spa and sauna facility is by far the best we've seen in any inner city apartments. It's modern and clean... just great!

All in all, given we stayed there at a discounted rate, Oaks on Market was great value for money. Anyone visiting Melbourne should have this on their accomodation shortlist.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry-Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

I stayed in the Oaks over Christmas and had a suite which was really spacious. There where sort of 3 reason to go with them:
The Pool and Spa, though I never used it, the location was great as it was not far from the main center away, nothing was really far away and the last thing was the kitchenette, which I used every day.
The price of the breakfast was really good, compared to other hotels I had stayed at the weeks before and it was ok.
The staff was as mentioned somewhat stuck to their computers a lot of the times.
The room was clean even dishes where done when forgotten by me.
I hardly used the public transportation, as you could reach a lot of the attraction via foot, even walking over to the MCG which only took 20 minutes on Boxing Day to see the Boxing Day Cricket match.
I had a pleasant stay and the room was also quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tinyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

My wife and I spent four nights in the Oaks. Apart from the shower taps - a bane of anyone's life these days, but particularly gruesome in the case of this hotel - the Oaks was up to the promised standard. But somehow it's a rather lifeless place, with staff at reception glued to their computer screens and a very plasticy breakfast room. Where's the famed Australian "no worries mate" camaraderie?

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DudeMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
1,315 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#48 of 161 in Melbourne
1,507 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#45 of 161 in Melbourne
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $117 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing