We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No freaking remote in the room!!!!”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #92 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Pros:
1. Location
2. Clean and well kept
3. Views from the room
4. Decent bar

Cons:
1. Terrible service and the staff is not helpful at all
2. TV does not come with a remote. You cannot switch the TV on or OFF using the "cable" remote.
3. No DVD player in the room
4. Elevators screwed up. All the elevators have some issues
5. Terrible coffee in the cafe below

Recommended only for those who are on a strict budget.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mightyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
There are newer reviews for Oaks on Market
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2008

I stayed in Oaks on Market for 3 nights with my parents in May 2008. We were all very happy with the stay.
Checkin was efficient, the room was huge and clean, the view nice. I had a folding bed set up in the lounge, that was a little soft but the bed linen otherwise comfortable.
The gym was well-stocked and the pool in the basement clean, pleasant to use and well-lit.
After examining the sleeping arrangements, my mum had a request for two doonas rather than one big one for the main bed. This was dealt with quickly and with no fuss, a spare doona arrived at the door very quickly.
Our only gripe was about the breakfast; the food is good, and on the Friday morning it was accessible, however the breakfast area is small, and on the weekend when the hotel was busy, the crowds at the buffet table made it difficult and time consuming to serve yourself.
Overall however, it was a great stay, and my mum is going there again in a few weeks! (And she's a hard to please lady)

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuccalUnderPressure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

The best thing about this hotel is the location! The rooms are also very large and quite nicely decorated. I'd recommend eating out over the restaurant, which was quite average.

Normally the rooms are clean but last time i stayed here it looked as though the bathroom had hardly been cleaned (hairs in the shower, tissues and rubbish in the toilet bin). Not nice

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rachel_Whales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

The Oaks on Market is a safe bet if you are looking for a 3 star hotel in the Melbourne CBD.

There are two Oaks properties in Melbourne. They are both within 300 metres of each other. Avoid the Oaks on Collins like the plague but the Oaks on Market is much better.

The rooms are quite modern. They are well set out, clean and comfortable. The location is very good just off Collins Street and in very easy walking distance of the city centre, Southbank and Southern Cross or Flinders Street Rail Station. You are within 100 metres of a tram stop on both Collins & Flinders Lane also.

Room Service was also good and the resturant and bar area looked quite nice.

Paid $160/night for a studio room which represented excellent value for money for this type of property in the CBD.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jove99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We only stayed here for a few nights whilst visiting Melbourne and St Kilda. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, however one bedroom was actually next to the lounge with only a see through curtain to divide it and the other bedroom had a glass wall to divide it from the lounge area. Not very private for 2 couples.

Bathroom between the two rooms was shared, and no lock on the bathroom door. Could be a little embarassing!

Reception were very nice, although a little removed from the main area, parking was a little tight, but I guess we were in the city so to be expected, Was a little disapointed that the apartment was quiet smallI, although it was practical and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

No problems at all with this hotel, the room was clean, spacious and had a fantastic view of the Casino/Southbank. We booked on not1night.com.au, and their bedding configuration description wasn't correct...there were 4 of us in a 1 bedroom apartment. However, one employee was very helpful and arranged us a 2 bed apartment for our second night which we were very happy with. Overall, great value and a good location. Only about 10 mins walk to downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Olivia055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Just back in Sydney from a 5 day leisure trip to Melbourne.

I'd booked at the Alto but after reading about the Oaks, cancelled it and booked here, and very glad I did.

Stayed on my own in a Studio suite which was immaculately clean and very comfortable. Kitchenette was great - just a toaster, kettle, stove top and microwave and fridge but I just did toast and cereal.

Bed was very comfortable, sofa very good, and the LCD TV can swivel to any angle in the room. They also have a very basic TEAC CD player

Service was excellent. Check in was a breeze and staff very warm and friendly at all times. I think the hotel was full for the first 2 nights of my stay but you'd never know it from the Staff's friendly, relaxed demeanour. And every guest I met in the lifts or the lobby was happy and friendly as well, so all-in-all a very nice place to be.

Reception was up within 5 minutes when I reported a lack of a 'do not disturb' sign, and room service was equally efficient at bringing my meal in 20 minutes.

I ate breakfast once in the restaurant, basic but nice scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, hash browns, toast, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, tea, coffee, juices etc.

It was great being in such a central but quiet location. So may nearby hotels are either on main roads, in back alleys, or near noisy cafes or bars.

I was really impressed and will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#127 of 160 in Melbourne
1,234 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#46 of 160 in Melbourne
1,432 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#53 of 160 in Melbourne
469 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
5,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $114 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing