We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience and comfort”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #93 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Convenience and comfort”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very comfortable apartment, bed good, good kitchenette, fresh and nicely decorated, and very convenient for walking around Melbourne, or for catching a tram. We had as an added bonus a great view of fireworks for Chinese New Year!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marguerite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review,

We are glad to read that the apartment’s kitchenette and furnishings met your expectations.
It is pleasing to read that our location was convenient to explore the city centre and that the fireworks were able to be viewed from the comfort of the apartment.

Thank you for your time.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    564
    224
    84
    44
See reviews for
230
371
87
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I regularly stay here when travelling to Melbourne for work - reasonable rates and central location keeps us coming back. Encounters with the staff have been wonderful - friendly and efficient.

However, a few times the reception staff have charged my credit card even though the arrangement with my employer (or FCM) is to charge them directly. This has also happened to a few colleagues.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ThreeApolTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It is pleasing to read that our location is convenient, the customer service is friendly and our reasonable prices have contributed to repeat business.

When accommodation is booked by a third party the documents can be sometimes be delayed or unclear. We hope the reception were able to correct the account promptly.

We thank you for your business and hope to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Have stayed here a few times now, close to rail station and casino. Oaks restaurant is OK but would probably have breakfast elsewhere as buffet breakfasts are pretty much the same everywhere.
Very comfortable bed, great views, great service competitively priced would stay here again.

Room Tip: Yarra river, city views the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieMcIntyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed the views from the comfort of the room .
It is pleasing to read that the customer service and the reasonable rate met your expectations.

We thank you for your repeat business and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We recently stayed 4 nights here and really enjoyed it. We were given a studio room with a view and it didn't disappoint. The room was clean, comfortable and very spacious for a studio. The bed was also very comfortable. The location is excellent - close to main attractions but seems quieter as it's not on Collins St. The service desk was also very helpful. My only criticism is the lighting in the bathroom - it is very dull, even with both lights on. For the location, it is very good value for money and we will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarant66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review,

We are glad the apartment was found comfortable, clean and spacious.
Its pleasing to read that the location was ideal and the wonderful views were appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Booked a deal on their website for a studio view room, with a bottle of wine on arrival and breakfast for one. Was told breakfast for second person was available for $16. Seemed reasonable. Upon arrival, we were allocated a room on the 19th floor. The view we got was of the top of an old building and back of some office buildings. When I went down to question the view I was told that you are not guaranteed a view and that all rooms on the 19th floor is considered a room with a view regardless of the view! I approached another staff member and said that the room we were in was unacceptable, the website had a picture of the room and based on what we were given it was misleading. They finally moved us to a room with a proper view and instantly I could tell they put us in a crappier and older room coz we had a toddler. They new room was much cleaner and had a fab view of south bank. ...plus we also had to ask for the bottle of wine. Nothing was mentioned at check in and I almost forgot. We also got extra breakfast for two days and upon checkout they tried to charge us for four breakfasts. When I corrected this , the reduced it to two but tried to charge the full price instead of the pre pay price. Very frustrating having to explain this to three staff during my whole stay. No one seems to know what offers each guest has booked and it appears no notes are put into bookings. My advice, check you bill carefully and know what you are entitled to.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank freckydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in reviewing our property.

It's disappointing to read that the service let your stay down and the information was provided to you during your first night instead of on check in. I am glad that you received all inclusions of the deal and that the staffs were able to assist in a room move and correcting the invoice prior to settlement of bill.

On the positive note it is pleasing to be able to offer you a great value for money deal.

Thank you for the feedback and from this feedback we can improve.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel is so close to the city that it is a walking distance away from both city and SouthWharf! The room is clean, tidy, comfortable and cozy! For the price of my stay and with a great location, I can say this hotel is a great value for money!

At night, the area around the hotel can be quiet and you will feel at peace!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest.

We thank you for your review.

We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay and found the apartment comfortable, clean and the location idea to explore the city centre.

It's pleasing to read that our service was helpful and the product was great value for money.

Thank you for your time.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were visiting Melbourne.. Again.
Check in was great, friendly and helpful staff. The room was huge. But the same can't be said for the bath tub.
After a long day of Stocktake Sale shopping we got home and wanted a quick soak in the shower / bath.
Well.
I have never seen or experienced such a short and narrow bath. I couldn't even sit up straight in the tub and soak my legs completely. I had to bend my legs sitting up.
Not sure why they had a tub under the shower when it's only big enough to bathe a child.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It is pleasing to read that the room was found spacious and the service was friendly and helpful.

It is disappointing to read the size of bath did not meet your expectaions.


Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#128 of 160 in Melbourne
1,219 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#44 of 160 in Melbourne
1,417 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#50 of 160 in Melbourne
454 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
616 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#85 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing