We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oaks on Market
Nearby Hotels
$112
$102
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$230
$182
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$160
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$148
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$206
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$126
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$213
$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$261
$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$212
$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,513)
Filter reviews
1,513 results
Traveler rating
440
680
249
93
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
680
249
93
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket stgreat locationstudio apartmentcrown casinosouth bankshort walkyarra rivercollins streetpool and gymcentral locationgood sizetram stoplarge bathroomreception staffbusiness tripwater pressurelong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,417 - 1,422 of 1,513 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Just back in Sydney from a 5 day leisure trip to Melbourne.

I'd booked at the Alto but after reading about the Oaks, cancelled it and booked here, and very glad I did.

Stayed on my own in a Studio suite which was immaculately clean and very comfortable. Kitchenette was great - just a toaster, kettle, stove top and microwave and fridge but I just did toast and cereal.

Bed was very comfortable, sofa very good, and the LCD TV can swivel to any angle in the room. They also have a very basic TEAC CD player

Service was excellent. Check in was a breeze and staff very warm and friendly at all times. I think the hotel was full for the first 2 nights of my stay but you'd never know it from the Staff's friendly, relaxed demeanour. And every guest I met in the lifts or the lobby was happy and friendly as well, so all-in-all a very nice place to be.

Reception was up within 5 minutes when I reported a lack of a 'do not disturb' sign, and room service was equally efficient at bringing my meal in 20 minutes.

I ate breakfast once in the restaurant, basic but nice scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, hash browns, toast, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, tea, coffee, juices etc.

It was great being in such a central but quiet location. So may nearby hotels are either on main roads, in back alleys, or near noisy cafes or bars.

I was really impressed and will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Room was modern and very clean. Great location and at A$135 per night through Wotif, it was excellent value for such a big city.
Will definitely stay there again, especially at those rates !

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Micwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We have just returned from three nights at the Oaks . The check in was friendly and efficient,and we received a requested high room with a stunning view over Melbourne. The studio apartment was well appointed, and quite roomy-included a small table and a couch,and small kitchen.
The breakfasts were included in the rate and while basic, were more than adequate. We had one evening meal in the restaurant which was of a high quality and well priced.
The Oaks is well situated to the Collins street theatres(we saw the stage show Wicked which was excellent) ,to the Casino and Eureka Tower, and to the Southern Cross Coach and Railway Station.A stop on the free Circle line tram is 100m away.The location is central and quiet
We had an early check out at 5.30 am and the clerk was friendly and helpful. Overall the Oaks is very good value.,

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Howde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

My friend and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago on a trip to Melbourne to see the musical "Wicked" - which was fantastic. Unfortunately the service from the hotel - not so fantastic. Taking advice from others on this site we requested a room on a high floor with a view - we requested this three weeks in advance and were told that our request would be recorded.
This would no doubt explain why upon arrival we were checked into a room on the THIRD floor.........with a view.........of an alley, the side of a building and some dustbins!
When we protested that this was the exact opposite of our request and enquired as to whether they were in fact "having a laugh" we were told that yes they had our request in the booking but there was nothing available on a higher level.
Yeah right! We were checking in on a Thursday night, for four nights, and the hotel was not busy. Interestingly enough we spotted many people who had checked in after us pushing the elavator buttons for levels 16 through 21.
The desk clerk (who managed to be both rude and monosyllabic atn the same time - quite an achievement) didn't check the notes on our booking until AFTER he had allocated a room so basically just couldn't be bothered to issue a new card when we pointed out the error.
The room itself was very clean but dark due to windows basically facing a wall!
We did intend to go back and try our luck for a room change on the Friday morning but we had early starts on all days of our trip and basically once unpacked (and having shopped.....just a little bit) it became too much hassle to up sticks and change rooms.
When we checked out and told the desk what had happened we were told that absolutely they would have moved us had we asked again on the Friday morning and that he really couldn't understand why our request wasn't honoured in the first place. He said he would have the Manager call us...............two weeks........still waiting.
So my advice would be to stick to your guns if you have pre-requested a room on the upper levels!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

What a great place to stay very clean, roomy apartment,and close enough to get to all the major places we wanted to visit.
Lifts were pretty fast, and much to our amazement we couldn't hear running water from other apartments like you normally do. Very Quiet....well impressed .
May even keep this place a secret from our friends :)

Will definately be back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ticketybooQld_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews