We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing bad but nothing outstanding.”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #93 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing bad but nothing outstanding.”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We booked the Oaks On Market for a three night stay in a 1 bedroom apartment as we were travelling with a disabled person and it was one of the few hotels around that seemed to do decent disabled facilities. Factoring into our decision was the reasonable cost of the apartment when booked through the Entertainment Book with the discount. My friend and I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on Floor 4. Location of the hotel was great for our visit to the Good Food and Wine show and the shopping and restaurants that we planned to do. Check-in was smooth and reception staff were polite and helpful when we niggled them about things like extra pillows (there were three in the apartment to cover to single beds) and blankets - see later note about air-conditioning!. The staff were also obliging and patient when it came to assisting our disabled travel companion in and out via the electronic wheelchair lifter machine - there was no ramp in or out. So, in general, service was fine as was the cleanliness of the apartment and the kitchen supplies (although we were stumped as to why we got heaps of glasses and cups but only two of everything else!). The one bedroom apartment we were in had an over large living room, which could have done with an extra single chair or couch in it. Two of us well padded ladies sharing the only small couch in the room was a bit squishy. An arm chair could have solved this problem and filled up all the empty space. The kitchen area was at the end of the long living space with a decent table and chair setting. Behind the kitchen partition was the 'bedroom'. Unlike other apartments where the bedroom was a proper enclosed bedroom this was just a space partitioned off with no door. It really did feel like these spaces had been designed for something else and then renovated into awkward long apartment spaces. On the upside beds were comfy and there was cupboard space, bedside lights and room for luggage. The bathroom, like the lounge room was over large with a big empty space at the end of it. It seemed like once upon a time there may have been a washing machine or something that had since been taken out leaving everything else up one end of the bathroom and nothing filling the space. This seemed like a wasted area as the sink area could have been larger for our bathroom things. The bathroom had a decent sized shower/bath set up but, as with all taps in the apartment, it took ages before we could get hot water. Seemed like such a waste of water to run the water tap for so long before you could get hot water for a shower or washing up. The heating/airconditioning system didn't work properly so our apartment was 19-20 degrees for our entire stay and never got any higher. Bit annoying. Other slightly annoying things
1. there was no manual/information guide in the room at all for the hotel - the usual folder that most hotels have about laundry/tv channels/ room service/ pool and gym info was nowhere to be found
2. Our unit was next to the lifts and wrapped around the space behind the lift wells. At night we didn't have too much noise but at 6.30am when business travellers all went for breakfast and off to meetings we heard EVERY lift up and down.So whilst we didn't hear noise from other apartments we were woken early every morning by lift noise. Next time I would ask for a different location. My disabled travel companions on another floor complained of a constant whistling sound that seemed to emit in the middle of the night from an electronic box outside their room.

So all in all it wasn't fabulous but wasn't the worst place I have ever stayed in. Would I stay there again? Probably if I was going back to something at the Convention Centre but other than that I would consider trying another Apartment Hotel or return to Mantra on Russell.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that isn't next to the lifts!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhead_on_tour_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your in depth review; although it is unfortunate and disappointing that we were not be able to meet all your expectations, we are glad that you have found our customer service obliging and enjoyed our great location.

Please rest assure that we have a many rooms configurations; and perhaps if you decide to give us another opportunity we may be able to find the perfect room for you.

Thank you again

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    564
    224
    84
    44
See reviews for
230
371
87
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is the 2nd time I've stayed at this hotel, this time just my husband and myself. We stayed in a studio appartment on the 13th floor. It was very comfortable with a queen bed. The room could have been darker with wider drapes to cover the windows entirely. I like to start the day with a cuppa, but when we plugged in the kettle it blew out the entire electrical system in the room, and we had to find the fuse box to switch on the safety switch, twice!
This hotel is situated in a great position, 1 block to flinders st, then cross the bridge over the Yarra river and you've got the restaurants of southbank to the right and crown to the left, literally a 5 min walk. We will stay here again

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Returning Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our property; although we were disappointed to read that you had some issues with the curtains and the kettle in your apartment; we are glad that you enjoyed yet another stay with us.

It is great to see that our returning guests ratio is constantly increasing; this is mainly due to our great location, comfortable rooms and good customer service.

Once again thank you for your feedback; and we sincerely looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Our 2 bedroom room was huge and had a wonderful view of the river and south bank. Great location, close to the city but also close to south bank where there is plenty of places to eat and plenty of entertainment. Great view, great room and staff were friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sare_jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback; we are glad that your stay with us was an enjoyable one; and that you found our location as well as our staff to be great.

Thanks again

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in a studio apartment which was central to Melbourne's shopping area, the casino, Southbank and Flinders Street Station. Studio was large and roomy and we would certainly stay there again. Staff were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynE609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property; we are glad that your three nights stay with us was a most enjoyable one.

Thank you also for you kind comments in regards to our friendly and efficient staff.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The location of this hotel makes it an ideal place to stay when visiting Melbourne. You are within a very short walk of the shopping areas and you are surrounded by superb restaurants. The hotel is located near the Circle tram route which is a free tourist tram rude that does a complete circle of the city allowing you to hop on and off at your convenience. You are also just a few minutes wal from the river and the famous South Bank where there are even more exquisite restaurants as well the must see Eureka Skydeck which is one of the tallest viewing platforms in the southern hemisphere.
All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagthrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback and for recommending our property to others.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us; and we hope that you also enjoyed our beautiful city of Melbourne.


Thank you for you feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for a night because it was a 5-10 minute walk from the Etihad Stadium and we only went up for a concert but we found it very perfect for that! It is only a 10 minute walk to the casino as well - very close! so it all worked out perfectly. Room was nice and clean, very spacious with the bed and also 2 couches in there to sit on - wasn't just a bed in a room which good. Nothing overly fancy or ultra modern - but just really nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback, similar to all other Oaks Hotels & Resorts properties, Oaks on Market it is also more than just a room.

It was great to hear that we were able to offer you a great stay in one of our spacious and clean apartments.


Thank you for you feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel has a perfect location right in the heart of Melbourne, staff were very helpful and the rooms very quite large and clean. Excellent meals in the Restaurant at reasonable prices. Beautiful pool and spa but the only downfall was the water was very cold and the spa was not warm even after having the heat on. Overall a very pleasant hotel to relax and stay in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback; indeed our perfect location as well as our very helpful staff are two of main drawcards for Oaks on Market, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#128 of 160 in Melbourne
1,219 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#44 of 160 in Melbourne
1,417 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#50 of 160 in Melbourne
453 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
616 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#85 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing