We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city hotel”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #91 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great city hotel”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Oaks on Market during a recent business trip. Super location with great access to CBD and south bank / Crown complex and just a short (10min) walk to the main shopping areas.

Ide for someone looking for something great value close to main amenities.

Pool is lovely and gym reasonably well equipped.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bashDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback; indeed we are blessed with the super location of our Hotel, right in the centre of Melbourne CBD yet nicely tucked away in a quiet street.

Thanks again; and we look forward to welcome you back.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    550
    218
    80
    42
See reviews for
222
355
84
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed there for 4 nights with our 2 year old daughter. Hotel steps do not hv convenient ramps (altho there is a disabled access on request) so we ended up carrying the baby pram up and down the steps daily. Good luck if you're travelling with big luggages. The bed was as hard as rock, it's unbelievable! We hv never slept in such a bed despite having travelled all over the world. It's a king bed but has two mattresses combined. There's a very uncomfortable lump in the middle where the mattresses joined which caused our little one to toss and turn in great discomfort. The worst bed ever!

Its great location and clean room are its saving grace.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank vandamsjoaquim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback; although we are glad that you recognised the great value for money; we are also very disappointed that we were not able to offer you a good night sleep.

Unfortunately due to the steepness of our stairs, a ramp is not an option; however we do have a wheel chairs lift at the front of our building, as well as intercom manned 24 hours a day if assistance is required with carrying prams and luggage up the stairs.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have been staying at Oaks for 5 weeks now and I'm quite disappointing and disgusted by the hygiene of the rooms, There are also a few holes in my sofa for some reason...

1. Towels. I often leave my towels on the floor after 2-3 days. But I noticed that sometimes these same towels are hung again. The reason I know this is because they are still wet then I return to my room!

2. After I cook the countertop can be a bit dirty. It seems this is not important enough to be cleaned the next day. I left it for 6 days and nothing changed!

3. Glasses and plates are only washed with water. Every time I can still see food on the plates or inside of the pans.

4. The gym smells like mothballs. This really gets to you when running for 1 hour.

I have asked my company to remove Oaks from here hotel list with success after another colleague had the same complains. This is on the 12th floor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank O D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is very disappointing to read your review.

Thank you for your time and advising of where we let your stay down. We have addressed all of your concerns with the housekeeping department and management.

Please be advised we offer both short and long stays. Short stays with daily services and long stays on a competitive rate with weekly services.

If you would like to discuss your concern further please do not hesitate to contact us.

It is very unfortunate to be removed form your business.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Checked in on NYE 2013 and stayed for two nights. Check in was really easy and assistance was given to me to take our two large cases up to our 11th floor room whilst my boyfriend was returning our hire car (greatly appreciated). The room was MASSIVE. It was effectively a small apartment with bed area, small sofa/living room area and basic kitchen facilities (oven, grill, fridge, hob and microwave) should we have fancied a spot of cooking during our stay (we didn't!!). Bathroom was also very large, tidy and clean. Considering we stayed on NYE and 1st Jan 2014, the room price was very reasonable for the size of room and facilities included in our stay. Only minor negative was the room service on New Years Day. It took three calls to reception to get a menu delivered to our room, and we were also told three different times regarding when the food could be ordered. However, once ordered the service was pretty quick considering it was New Years Day and the food quality was great. Overall, we were very happy with everything and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback.
Great size and clean rooms, good facilities, attentive service and a great location, indeed these are some of the aspects that makes of our property a good “all rounder”.

Thank you for choosing to welcome the New Year with us; and for your kind comments.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My family (2 adults, 2 young children) stayed for 4 nights in 2 bedroom apartment - apartment was clean, well-furnished. The self-catering kitchen was well-equipped and clean. Location - fairly central, near some convenience stores, very close to tram stops (to the north and south). 10 minute walk to the Aquarium. The concierges were very helpful, and there is a (small) gym and large pool, and laundry facilities.

Overall, a good choice for a family break in Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time in reviewing our property.

We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay and found the room well equipped.

It is pleasing to read that the service you encountered was helpful and our location was convenient to the attractions.

Thank you for finding the time to enjoy our pool, gym, and laundry facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

One of the better options for self catering apartments in Melbourne. Nice location which is very well connected by trams and buses. Walkable distance to train station and city center.The rooms are well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acute_traveller_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback; we are glad and pleased that we were able to cater for all your needs.

Again, thank you for your feedback; and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for Xmas for a week to see the cricket, best we don't talk about that! The hotel was excellently located in central Melbourne, everything was close by, all within walking distance. The rooms were well presented and light and airy. The kitchenette area was particularly useful and the toaster was better than ours at home! The laundry facilities were much better than some hotels and not ridiculously expensive either. The Reception staff were super, we had a very nice Sri Lankan gentleman who could not have been more helpful and always greeted us with a welcoming smile and a little quip about the cricket, all done in good fun. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Melbourne who wanted a reasonable priced hotel that was so central. Thank you to everyone who made out stay in Melbourne such a wonderful one.

Room Tip: We stayed on a high floor and it was exceptionally quiet as there is a road out the front. We had n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Twiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback; we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Oaks on Market; and we hope that the friendly cricket banters from Nishanta weren’t too much to bear (there is always a next time).

Thanks again; and we look forward to welcome your back on your next visit to our beautiful city.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#127 of 159 in Melbourne
1,194 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
1,401 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#30 of 159 in Melbourne
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#48 of 159 in Melbourne
439 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#75 of 159 in Melbourne
869 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing