We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Melbourne.”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #89 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I wen to a Medical Meeting and stayed 5 nights at OAKS on Market.I took Sky Bus from the Airport.It was a great service.
My stay at this property was great. My room was a one bedroom apartment with all the facilities I could need: air cond.,hairdryer,TV at bedroom and living room,kittchenet, refrigerator, ironing facilities, good towels.There are washing machines and dryers at basement.Three dollars each wash and 3 for dryer also.
My mattress was not very comfortable but I slept anyway. I would need stronger lights to read at night( hope you understand my English!) and at bathroom. Make up must be done at the living room ,which has a big window with nice city room.
Food from restaurant was delicious.Prices like, good but not luxury restaurants, close the OAKS.
The location is good.I went everyday to Melbourne Convention Center. I could go walking or by 112 tram with Mikicard ( you can buy it at 7 Eleven,80 mts from front door to right, on Collins St.)
The city tram can be taken on Flinders ,150 mts from front door, walking to the left.
To take the Shuttle City Bus( 5 dollars,not free anymore) go to the right, to Collins St, then to left ,Williams St., walk 50 mts and there is the stop, where you can buy the ticket. I really enjoyed the Shuttle Bus service.
As you see the Oaks is well located as others have said.
I think the daily cleaning must be improved not just the first day.
I would be back if I ever come back to Melbourne.

Room Tip: My room was 1914,do not recommend you because is just by the elevator.From 01 to 12 are far from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilar2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your in depth feedback; we are glad that you enjoyed our property and our beautiful city of Melbourne.

We will definitely share your comments with our Executive Housekeeper in regards to the daily housekeeping service.

Again, thank you for your comments; and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Australia.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

Oaks on market is fantastically central. I got around purely by foot and it would take roughly:

5 minutes walk to crown casino and the aquarium
15 minutes walk to Southbank and the DFO
20 minutes walk to Docklands
5 minutes walk to the heart of Flinder's lane
6 - 7 minutes walk to Flinders Station/Fed Squre

You really can't get much more central than that!

The rooms are well appointed and have everything you need for a comfortable stay in the CBD. The hotel itself is actually also very reasonable for a CBD hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our property, we are glad that you enjoyed the central location of our building and our well appointed rooms.

Thank you again; and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My family and I recently stayed for 3 nights and it was absolutely fantastic. Very clean and large rooms. the facility's were terrific. The staff were great and very friendly, the food was nice and well priced. I will be coming back that's for sure and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind feedback; we are glad that we are able to cater for the needs of your family ; and that you enjoyed our terrific facilities, meals and customer service.
Thank you again for the positive comments and for recommending our property to others.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic. Great location, very quiet and spotless rooms. All facilities you could need, comfortable beds and friendly staff. Came with a friend and our school leaving daughters and we all enjoyed it. Will stay again and recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Shana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
I will let your review speak for itself.
THANK YOU
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had two nights at this hotel. Our room was a connecting room with a young family next door and unfortunately the baby cried a lot. So ask for a non connecting room. The rooms are Spacious with cooking facilities if required. There Happy Hour is forgettable in terms of prices but the restaurant food was very good. Staff were very helpful and sent our faxes for no charge. There is a printer and computer available for personal use. The location is within walking distance to most attractions or a tram stop. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Unless travelling with family ask for a NON connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gailv60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing us with your very useful feedback; we were happy to read that although there were some minor issues, you managed to enjoy our spacious rooms and the perfect location of our building.
Thanks again; and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights. We had a studio apartment – our room was good, nice large room with everything you need. The location is excellent, an easy walk to Southbank, restaurants and Flinders Station. We ate at the restaurant downstairs one night - the food was good and reasonably priced. We are planning a longer stay in Melbourne soon and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouringTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, the location of our hotel and the delicious and well priced meal in our restaurant.
Thank you again; and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Melbourne.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights in the Oaks on Market and it was a very good experience. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, and the 2 bedroom apartment we stayed in was very clean and well-appointed. Beautiful views over the Yarra River. But then we were on the 16th floor, lower down the views would be not good to say the least. It was quiet - no tramlines on Market Street. We did not experience any of the noise from bar patrons other reviewers complained about. The restaurant offered good fare at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try to get as high up as you can for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are glad that our very clean and well-appointed two bedrooms apartment suited your needs; and that you enjoyed the beautiful views from it.

Thank you again for your feedback; and we look forward to welcome back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
1,312 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#49 of 161 in Melbourne
1,506 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#44 of 161 in Melbourne
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#34 of 161 in Melbourne
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $119 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing