We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oaks on Market Street was a Great Choice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #92 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
brisbane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Oaks on Market Street was a Great Choice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

I stayed at Oaks on Market Street for three days, and was very impressed with the room and the location.

The room, which was a two bedroom, one bathroom apartment on the nineteenth floor, was very spacious and nicely furnished. It was very clean, and was serviced everyday to a very high standard. There was always plenty of towels and toiletries, which was appreciated, as I've found them to be in short supply in some other places I have stayed.

We had great views of the city, the river, and the bay. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. I didn't eat at the restaurant, so I can't comment on that, but the R2 bar was a nice place to go for a drink, and was always busy.

My only criticism of the Oaks is that the bed and the pillows were very firm, which could be fine for most people, but I found them to be a bit uncomfortable.

Overall, I thought it was great. Not overly luxurious, but very clean and modern, with a nice atmosphere and friendly staff. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The location, and the spacious apartment
  • Disliked — The hard pillows!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thriller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    538
    210
    78
    40
See reviews for
205
343
80
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

Spent two lovely nights at this Hotel and was very happy with the overall experience. We got a great deal for the Oaks on Market on the Wotif website. The location is fantastic as it is close to public transport and the city centre. The room was very nice, well equipped for our short stay and was pleased that it was really clean. Only draw back was we would have liked to order breakfast to our room but they didn't have that facility. Having said that, there are many great cafes to have breakfast just around the corner. Looking forward to staying there again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No Room Service
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelle43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

Very clean apartment hotel and the indoor tepid pool and gym is a bonus. Kitchen facilities are excellent and the rooms extremely spacious.
If you're sad enough to be going on holiday to watch TV - this is not the place (only 5 TV channels - all as bad as each other)
Always ask for a front / high room as the view of the river and Casino at night is worth seeing
The food at the restaurant deserves a miss, ( tastes like TV dinners) even though the staff are very friendly.

  • Liked — value, close to attractions & transport, clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HoneyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed at the Oaks On Market for 3 nights in a studio room, whilst holidaying in Melbourne at the end of July 08.

Originally we had considered a 5 star hotel like the Westin, but decided that as we were planning on wandering around the city for most of the 3 days, it was pointless paying for a luxurious room we would barely spend any time in. Our goal was to have a comfortable, functional base, from which to explore Melbourne.

We had previously stayed at the Oaks On Collins, (just a few hundred metres away,) in 2005, and were very happy with the New York Style apartment we booked back then at that sister hotel.

However, as the Oaks On Collins do not have a restaurant on site, the hot buffet breakfast that came included at the Oaks On Market was ultimately the deal-breaker for us, as it represented better value for money.

The rooms at Oaks on Market are inferior to those at Oaks on Collins. They have been "refurbished," but I could not call them completely "renovated." Although there was nothing wrong with the room in general, the kitchenette still bore the unmistakable taint of early 90's decor. By comparison, the apartment at Oaks On Collins on our previous Melbourne trip, had a more modern, "slick" look.

One advantage the Oaks on Market has over the Oaks on Collins is a pool and gym facility. Both of these features, combined with the generous buffet breakfast, do tick some very important boxes for our hotel criteria. (I just couldn't get over the dated kitchen - but I have been called a hotel snob before!)

There are some very big pluses to The Oaks on Market: The location is smack-bang in the middle of town, and beats many of the 5-star hotels purely in terms of location. Flinders St Station is just a brief stroll away, so getting around is made very simple.

If you want luxury then you are going to have to pay the 5-star price tag. If you are looking for modern comfort and fuctional convenience, whilst experiencing exceptional value for money, (and you really will find it hard to get more value for your money anywhere in Melbourne,) it's well worth considering the Oaks On Market.

  • Liked — Generous Hot Buffet Breakfast
  • Disliked — Slightly Dated Decor
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FOSTERSAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

On request of a room with a view we arrived to be treated to a fantastic corner room on level 16 with uninterrupted views of the Yarra river over to Crown Casino. We found the room to be spacious with a handy kitchenette and flat screen TV (though the remote was well worn and had to be wrestled with to get it to work), housekeeping immaculate each day, and great pool/spa/sauna/gym in the basement. Negatives were a king bed made from two king singles & above mentioned TV issue. A shame they didn't install a bath that an adult could fit into considering the amount of room available to do so in the bathroom. The hotel itself was fresh, clean, and modern. Location was excellent with just a short stroll to either southbank or the CBD. The free city circle tram was located just a short walk away. The restaurant downstairs looked ok, but due to the range of choices in the city we didn't end of eating there. Overall I would highly recommend due to the location, availability of pool/spa/sauna/gym, and the reasonable rate obtained from their website.

  • Liked — Location, facilities, and price.
  • Disliked — Two king singles for the bed.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beefabear77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2008

I'd always check on tripadvisor before booking a hotel and this was no exception. I was originally interested in Oaks on Lonsdale because it was in the top 3 reviewed hotels in Melbourne however given the location of Oaks on Market and the fact it had a pool, gym and was reviewed well I decided to take a risk and go with it even though not in the top 10.

I'm pleased to say it did not dissappoint, the room was perfect and very good value for money. Cannot complain about anything really, just a simple room with big flat screen tv, all amenaties required and a great view over the river as requested when I booked.

Would 100% stay again and recommend to others.

Tim

  • Liked — Location, price, cleaniness
  • Disliked — Nothing of note
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank timbo262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

This was a nice place with big rooms and free wine and choclates, i even got to see a possum who climbed down on to your out-side table. Very nice and clean room. Good pool and spa. will stay here again if i go to melbourne

  • Stayed March 2004, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirlAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#129 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#75 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing