We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Bedroom City View”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #86 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Recently stayed in a 2 bedroom city view apartment - 4 women on a girls night out. Great location close to trams and right near Collins Street. The apartment was great - lots of room and was clean with a full size fridge. The "city view" was great other than the fact that the view out of the window was of the building next doors roof - but if you just looked beyond that - the view of the city was great. Will definately stay again - perhaps with the hubby & kids next time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstyf423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our property, we are glad that we were able to offer you and your friend a comfortable stay.

Thanks again; and we look forward to welcome you back with your hubby & kids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Fantastic location in the CBD and within walking distance of just about everything. We had a two bedroom apartment which was on the third floor. It very comfortable and well furnished. Our only disappointment was that it didn't have a view. Customer service on reception was very good and we were allowed to check in early. The apartments do not have their own car park but you can use a nearby one for only $10(see reception). The indoor swimming pool was very nice. We didn't use the exercise room or the sauna. I would certainly stay here again especially with a higher floor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read the location was convenient and your expectations of customer service were met during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back and would like to recommend for your next stay the Studio View, One bedroom view and Two Bedroom view rooms.

Thank you for your time and feedback

Kind Regards

Front Office Manager
On behalf of the Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel had everything we needed for a busy 2 days in Melbourne. Central location, helpful and professional staff, good sized comfortable rooms and a brief walk to tram stops, restaurants and shops. We don't normally eat breakfast in hotel restaurants but we enjoyed this one. Happy to recommend hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback; we are glad that you enjoyed our customer service, our rooms and the delicious breakfast.

Thank you again for your feedback and for recommending our property.


Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I came to Melbourne for a weekend to watch the football. We booked a room at Oaks on Market because of the $150 a night rate. On checking in the front desk staff said they would need a credit and $150 charge for "incidentals," in the past we have been caught with Hotels not returning the charge for anywhere up to 3 weeks after our stay so we now only pay bonds in cash. When asking the front staff member if we could do so he replied with no it has to be a credit card. Ok, in the room however there are no "incidentals" and definitely not $150 worth. THe staff are rude and this charge which is more than we paid for the room for the night up front has turned us off ever using oaks again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arognt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback; we were very disappointed to read your comments and that we were not able to offer you what we would have hoped to be a great stay.

Just like many other properties, it is our hotel policy and prerogative to take an imprint of a credit card upon every guest arrival, the same is taken to cover any incidentals used whilst staying with us; incidentals are not only limited within the room; as by taking an imprint of a guest credit card will allow you as a guest to use other facilities within our property and charge them back to your room.

It is disappointing that due to previous negative experiences from other hotels, you decided to try and change our policies, the same are clearly listed within our terms & conditions and is up to you as a consumer to accept them or decline them.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Oaks on Market is great for a business trip, it is centrally located, the facilities are clean and well kept and the rooms are massive.

I stayed for 2 nights, and really enjoyed my stay. The room had a kitchen allowing me to make my own food (rather than having to eat out every night) and the bed was very comfortable. The only issues I had with the room were that the remote control for the TV did not work (so I had to change channels at the TV) and it'd be great if the bathroom lights had a dimmer switch - it's no fun sitting in the bath in bright lights when you are trying to relax.

The hotel has a gym, pool and spa. I only used the spa, and was really excited about it but was disappointed when I discovered that they control the maximum temperature to 26 degrees (in water is not actually that warm) to prevent the hot water from the spa running into the pool (as the two are connected).

All in all, great for my purposes but would love it if they could find a solution to either make the spa warmer or dim the lights in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimmer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback; we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will take all your feedback on board including the negative as a great tool of information; and hopefully improve on your listed shortfalls.

Thank you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just back from a 2 nights in Melbourne for our daughters birthday, our stay at Oaks on Market in a 2 bedroom apartment, which we found to be comfortable, modern and clean...

Initially the apartment we were checked into didn't have a bath (also no windows in the bedrooms) although the bathroom was very spacious, however as we had our two small children with us we specifically wanted a room with a bath tub, one quick call later and they fortunately had a 'bath' apartment available with the added bonus that the bedrooms had windows (a side note that if you have difficulty stepping up into a bath to take your shower you might be better with a 'shower only' apartment) Kitchenette was suitable for us to make our children's meals but don't expect to whip up a gourmet feast (and why would you with all the excellent eating options just outside) the full size fridge/freezer was very handy. We used the pool on both days, it was clean and a nice temperature. Beds were comfortable I really appreciated the fact that the king size bed was actually a king bed, not just 2 singles made up as a king bed.

We got birthday cupcakes from 'little cupcakes' 118 Queen St and excellent t/a coffee from 'Ludo' next door. The Aquarium is an easy walk from the Oaks, be sure to ask for your discount vouchers at the front desk.

Room Tip: Specify if you need a bath or a shower in your bathroom... rooms on higher floors have a much nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmrsgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback; we are glad that we were able to find a room that suited yours and your family needs.

Indeed our customer service is one of the many selling points of our property; and we really appreciate when it is recognised.

Thank you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We just spent 4 nights in a one bedroom apartment and couldn't fault the location or room.
Very clean, loved the toiletries and location was very close to free tram and bus.
We bought a myki ticket to use trams and train to go further from the 7-11 100 metres away!
Walked and walked, tried lots of lane way bars and restaurants, especially loved rooftop bar on Swanston and Lygon Street!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback; we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay at Oaks on Market; and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
1,350 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#49 of 161 in Melbourne
1,537 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#45 of 161 in Melbourne
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $105 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing