We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but not special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #93 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location but not special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is in a convient central spot. It has lovely clean spacious rooms but that's about all it has to offer. The rooms are very dark and including the bathroom which made it impossible to apply make up. The shower pressure is so low making showering a very tedious and drawn out process.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tdogg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback,

We are very happy to hear that the room was clean and spacious.

Thank you for addressing the shower pressure and light environment with us.

Though this feedback we are able to review the information
and look into areas addressed.

Thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Front Office Manager
On Behalf of Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    538
    210
    78
    40
See reviews for
205
343
80
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
238 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Although highly recommended by tripadvisor, I was disappointed. Only one bathroom, very dark rooms, only a small window, old TV equipment, internet at a ridiculous high price, staff rather unfriendly, bar closed at 2230. I really asked myself why this got such a high rating

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkdive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are disappointed to hear that your stay was unpleasant and we thank you for taking the time to inform us.

It through our guest’s feedback that enables us to gather the information we need to review and addressed for improvement. This feedback allows us to look within and develop these areas addressed.

As an apartment property our timing of food and beverage are more limited as we offer within our room’s fridge and kitchenette facilities.

We will provide the feedback to our internet provider and look within the room at the lights and TV.

Thank you for your time


Kind Regards

Front office Manager
On behalf of the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in an apartment with a view on the 18th floor that was only of the other buildings roof tops. The room was very clean and the bed was excellent.
The reception service was very efficient and polite. Break fast had been pre paid and was a very good variety and all hot, except the toaster had to be done 3 times(why is this a problem in hotels - world wide)?
The best part was that we had easy walking access to the heart of the city for lunch and tea and then onto the casino. We felt very save walking to and from the casino at the late hour.
Will defiantly go back again and recommend to others

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Yarra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raylene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of our property,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the service of the staff was found to be polite and efficient.

We are glad you had the opportunity to experience our buffet breakfast and that the food variety and temperature of the food met your expectations.

We are very luckly with our location in the city centre as easy stroll to souhtbank and crown.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Warm Regards

Front Office Manager
On behalf of the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very well located within short walking distance to City Centre. Modern well appointed rooms with all kitchen utensills and facilities. Very helpfull and pleasant staff. Good clean Room/appartment. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on food.

Room Tip: Try and reserve room on upper floors, the views over Melbourne are stunning. Especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback,

It is a pleasure to read your review and to hear your expectations of our kitchenette facilities and the cleanliness of the room were delivered.

We are very happy to hear that the customer service provided to you during your stay was pleasant and helpful.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback

Warm Regards,

Front Office Manager
On behalf of the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This building is the older of the two Oaks apartments each within walking distance of each other in Melbourne city centre. I prefer this older building as there is more space in the rooms although the alternative oaks up the road is contemporary and all newly done out. There is quite a choice of rooms; studios with shower only or some come with a bath too and shower over the bath or one bedrooms and larger. I like the studios as they have a TV that you can see from the bed. The kitchenette, whilst small has everything you could need and is well equiped. The air conditioning units can be noisy on some floors and best too to stay away from rooms located right by the lift doors as the people traffic from the lifts can be heard in your rooms.

Room Tip: Don't have one close to the lift doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the room spacious and the kitchenette convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards

Front Office Manager
On behalf of the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

On the good side--good basic accommodations, clean, and friendly staff. Also, has a kitchenette area, if you are in need of that, which I am not. That's about it. Rooms are simple, with carpeting that is like indoor/outdoor and economy looking furniture. They actually pull one light bulb out of each 2-light bulb ceiling light in the main room and bathroom to save on electricity. How petty is that? The result is a feeling of low light--especially bad when in the bathroom in front of the mirror. My bed runner had a huge stain on it that looked like a bodily fluid that you won't want to draw a visual on. Not a big deal really, I just throw it on the floor anyway--but the question is: how could housekeeping see this every day when making the bed and not replace it?? Worst of all--the internet. $22 for 24 hours--the highest rate I have experience to date in all my international travels. But it gets WORSE--after 100Mb, you are charged .10 per megabite! I have never experienced that and it is terrible to have to watch your usage after paying $22! I made one Skype call for work, and that was it--I was done--I used my allotment. This is absolutely terrible if you are on business and need and internet connection for remote work. For this reason alone--never again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are disappointed to hear that your overall stay was unpleasant and thank you for taking the time to inform us of the areas to be addressed and also for the positive points of your stay.

I am very happy to here the staff were friendly and the room was of good size with all the basic provided.

We do have very reasonable accommodation rates which allow the guest to then choose the extras that suit their requirements for an additional price.

Our internet provider have a few plans to choose from the daily to weekly and monthly allowing us to provide a code that suit your needs.

In this circumstance it sounds like the download limit was used within the one Skype session and not adequate. We will provide your feedback to the provider and look into the megabyte limits and the information provided before purchase.

It is very disappointing to hear that the runner was not removed or replaced during your stay and we have addressed this with the housekeeping department.

Thank you for your time and your feedback

Kind Regards

Front Office Manager
On behalf of the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We wanted a hotel that was close to the CBD, had some in room facilities and also a gym/pool on site and this hotel had everything we needed. The room was nice and spacious and the in-room facilities were fantastic! Gym and pool were also very good for an inner city hotel. Would definitely recommend for a weekend away and would be perfect for families with children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you your feedback, It is pleasing to read that our in-room facilities and the space of the apartment allowed you to enjoy your stay within Melbourne CBD.
We are glad you were able to experience our pool and gym facilities during your stay.

Kind Regards
On behalf of
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#129 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#42 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#75 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing