We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oaks on Market
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$126
$93
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$181
$175
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$157
Hotel Windsor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$147
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$189
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$246
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$200
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$172
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,506)
Filter reviews
1,507 results
Traveler rating
437
677
249
93
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
677
249
93
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket stgreat locationstudio apartmentcrown casinosouth bankshort walkyarra rivercollins streetcentral locationpool and gymgood sizetram stoplarge bathroombusiness tripreception staffwater pressurelong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,111 - 1,116 of 1,507 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days in February since I was attending a conference and the hotel was close to the venue. The hotel is quite conveniently located, a block or two from the main shopping centres in Melbourne city and well served by public transport.

The room was spacious, a sitting room and separate bedroom with double bed. There was a large bathroom, but no separate shower, the shower being over a high bath which would be difficult for those with limited mobility. The vanity top was small and it was difficult to lay out toiletries. There was no hair dryer (important if my wife had been with me). Both the room and bathroom were very clean and the room and fittings were well maintained.

However, I’m afraid the good points end there. The rooms, carpet and furnishings are predominately dark brown, and do not appear to have been updated from the seventies. The same with the public areas. To compound the drabness the lights in the room were dim and reading / working was difficult. Also, as is all too common, the charges for wifi internet access were exorbitant (needless to say I didn’t use them).

And it is always the small details that leave a lasting impression. There was only one coat hanger in the wardrobe (and that was only suitable for a shirt, not a suit or trousers). There was a stove top and microwave (not sure who would use these) but the microwave had no turntable. There was no jug and water had to be boiled in a pan on the stove. There was no mini-bar (despite a deposit being asked for) and no TV guide (the channels on the TV bearing no relation to the actual channel numbers). I felt that there was little pride in how the place presented itself. The staff were not rude, just off hand and did not make you feel welcome.

Would I stay there again, No.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, needless to say we were very disappointed to read your feedback.

Although we cannot change or please every guest with the décor and colour scheme of our property; we can unquestionably improve the “small details” that you mentioned.

I would like to express my sincere apologies if you felt unwelcomed whilst staying with us as it is very uncharacteristic.

Once again thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I found the apartment lovely and spacious . The hotel is close to the CBD, the Skybus terminal, the Crown Casino, and much more. The restaurant and bar are reasonably priced. The pool and spa are a bit of a trek but well worth it after a big day of shopping. There is also a well equipped gym for those who like a work-out. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and location.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Perfect location if you stay few days in Melbourne, everything is close. The rooms are very spacious and have nice view... It' s also everything you need (apart a coffee plunger was missing !!! the only negative point! I have to buy one the second day of our stay) - The staff is very helpfull, specially Nishty and Lisa..... and Nishty speak perfect french !!!! My second time there, and if i have to go again, i will go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our rooms’ inventory offers many items; however a coffee plunger is not part of it; nevertheless when you can back we will be happy to “borrow” one from our restaurants and we gladly place it in your room.

Thank you for your feedback and we will definitely pass your kind comments to both Nishty and Lisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed in mid-January 2012 and went to the Australian Open tennis.

Cons: We stayed here about 5 years ago and our 2 bedroom apartment was a studio + interconnecting 1 bedroom apartment. I expected the same layout, however this time we were in a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment. The layout was a bit odd. The bedrooms didn't have any windows but had glass in the bedroom doors. Would have been fine except that the lounge room only had sheer curtains so the light streamed into the bedrooms in the morning.

Pros: Walking distance to the shops, Southbank, Aquarium, Federation Square and a free tram to the tennis just down the street. Bar and restaurant on premises. Staff gave excellent service even though they were busy as hotel was fully booked. Compared to other hotels in Melbourne at this time of year, the price was really good.

Room Tip: ask for a view of Southbank.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle66Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, it is great to read that our staff managed to provide you with excellent customer service even though the hotel was very busy. At Oaks on Market we offer few different configurations and options for the two bedrooms apartments, prior to your next visit please contact us first and we will make sure that we allocate a room that will suit your requirements.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Oaks on market is an extremely clean hotel,
Upon arrival we were able to leave our bags more than 4 hours before check in while we walked around Melbourne when we got into our room it was clean and modern with everything we needed.
Staff were friendly... Location is amazing! (Down the road to free tram) and facilities such as gym, pool and spa are all clean and well kept.
Overall could not have asked for a better hotel.. Especially at the price!!! :)
Well done oaks

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordypfenech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback, fcomments like yours are worth more to us than any type of advertising.

Indeed we are very fortunate with the location and we are glad that we managed to exceed your expectations.

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews