We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST VALUE FOR MONEY!”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #91 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“BEST VALUE FOR MONEY!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Oaks on market is an extremely clean hotel,
Upon arrival we were able to leave our bags more than 4 hours before check in while we walked around Melbourne when we got into our room it was clean and modern with everything we needed.
Staff were friendly... Location is amazing! (Down the road to free tram) and facilities such as gym, pool and spa are all clean and well kept.
Overall could not have asked for a better hotel.. Especially at the price!!! :)
Well done oaks

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordypfenech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, fcomments like yours are worth more to us than any type of advertising.

Indeed we are very fortunate with the location and we are glad that we managed to exceed your expectations.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    550
    218
    80
    42
See reviews for
222
355
84
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at Oaks on Market for a business trip in June 2012 and couldn't have been happier.

The room was spacious, great breakfast and exceptionally helpful staff as I continually put the room key next to my mobile phone which deactivated it.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tablescraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is great to hear that you were pleased with the size of your room and the great breakfast; and I will definitely share your comments with our staff.

Once again thank you for your feedback; and we would love to see you back soon as it has been a while since you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights and will go back again. The staff were efficient and friendly, our room was very modern, spacious (larger than expected) and clean. We had a fantastic view out over Southbank to Crown Casino (and so were able to watch the Chinese New Year fireworks from our room). The location is really good - not a very busy street, however we found it very central - taking only five minutes to walk to Fed Square or Hardware Lane, and with tram lines just at the end of the street. Highly recommended - it is really great value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for recommending our property, feedbacks like yours it is what makes us strive.

I am glad that you enjoyed your room and the views from it; and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Decent location, nice room and spacious studio apartment. Gym however is rubbish! very deceiving in photo on website, but pool, spa and sauna is nice even though small. Buffet breakfast very nice too. Wouldn't stay here again cause of bad gym and for the price of $200 a night I think id find better value a bit closer to cbd.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donski315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for offering us your feedback, our gymnasium was built to cater for the hotel demand not too big yet not too small; all the equipment is in a perfect working order and serviced regularly; our spa and sauna are standard size; however I would not consider our 18 meters long pool small.
We are sorry that we were not able meet your expectations; and thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

The service at all the oaks hotels is awful and I think it's a training issue and at some of them (although not this one) understaffing.
On this occasion they put me in a room behind the lifts and the door wouldn't lock. I was late for a dinner meeting so when they didn't come to look at the door for 15mins I phoned again and they said to bring my bags down and they'd put me in another room later (no apology). When I came back from dinner they said they'd fixed the door so I could go back in the same room. At no point did anyone say sorry about that or for the inconvenience. Then when I tried to sleep, the sound of all the lifts going up and down all night was soooo loud I woke up all through the night. When I mentioned it at the desk in the morning there was no sign of an apology just that they would put a note on my file for next time- what? That I didn't like being put in a room where it was basically impossible to sleep. Incidentally I'm a heavy sleeper so these lifts had to be pretty loud to wake me. That room was $235 - cheap for a nice room in Melbourne, but not if you can't sleep in it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, I have discussed your feedback with our Duty Manager and confirmed that indeed there was an issue with the smart door lock of your apartment.
At Oaks on Market we pride ourselves of the care and customer service that we offer to our guest; it is unfortunate that you were not able to experience it.
I am sorry for the inconvenience caused to you; and that these matters have ruined what we would have hoped to be an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have previously stayed at Oaks on Market & returned again for 6nights during the tennis in Jan 2013.
On arrival which was slightly prior to 2pm check in no room was ready, however staff speeded up the process & after about 20minutes our room was available. We had a 1 bed apartment overlooking the River & it was spacious, clean & satisfactory.
Front desk service & housekeeping was good & the pool area (located at lower Ground floor) was clean & ok for a quick dip.
Only slight downsides were:-
No In-Room safe (we understand that only a few rooms on higher floors have safes- as we had one on a previous stay), but there are safety deposit boxes available in the reception area. It may be useful if safes could be installed in most rooms for future.
No complimentary WiFi
and the Bars Air Conditioning appears very cold- maybe it was just where we sat but it was extremely cold & made the bar a little uncomfortable-we did mention this in a past review.
Overall however the Oaks is in a good position, a short stroll to CBD amenities, Southbank, or the River, rooms were clean, spacious & good for our purposes, service was fine & polite & we would recommend here if visiting Melblourne.

Room Tip: higher floor overlooking River
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollymac_9_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, it is very pleasing to be able to satisfy a guest the second time around, this shows consistency with both our product and customer service.
Thank you also for recommending our property to other travellers, we look forward to welcome you back once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We hired 2 rooms for a 2 night weekend trip to Melbourne. The hotel all in all provided a good experience. The rooms and lobby were presentable and were what we expected given the fairly reasonable price for a Central Melbourne hotel. The only issue we really had was that our room was not cleaned/made up after we returned from a day out. When we called housekeeping in the late afternoon we were told that our room would not be made up because we booked our room online (on the Oaks website). It was unfortunate that they did not offer to make our room up, however they did send us fresh towels. All in all, whilst this hotel isn't the Ritz, I guess you can expect to get what you pay for and this hotel lives up to that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davebock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property, I am glad that you enjoyed our rooms and lobby.
At Oaks Hotels & Resorts we believe that it is important to offer rates that can cater for everyone; I am assuming that you have booked the un-serviced special; although always a great deal; the same is not inclusive of housekeeping service and for this reason we manage to keep our rate low.
Thank you again for your feedback; and we look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#127 of 159 in Melbourne
1,194 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
1,401 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#30 of 159 in Melbourne
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#48 of 159 in Melbourne
439 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#75 of 159 in Melbourne
869 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing